We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent budget choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downtown Inn
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Currently Oregon
Level Contributor
235 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent budget choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

Basic no frills motel. I did get my requested two queen room. Free wi fi. Right downtown walk to anywhere. If you just need a nice clean place to stay, this is it. So, clean, comfortable, spacious room and well located if you want to be downtown.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    46
    20
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
45
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

Stayed here enroute from BC to San Diego based on TripAdvisor reviews and price. It was OK and the price reflected its value. Good beds, clean unit in a quiet, decent location is what we wanted and that's what we got. Think of a no-frills motel complex from the 60's but nicely updated.

The clerk was helpful and our expectations were met. A good bet for a short stay.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WindshearDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

I'll be honest, this place is kind of a dive but the price is good. The location is very certral to UofO and the rest of Eugene, but you pretty much get what you pay for in terms of the room and everything else -- not that it's all bad. The room I had was relatively quiet and comfortable and appeared to be somewhat clean. There were some stains on the ground and bed cover that probably come with some good stories if the walls could talk but they were tolerable given the price. The room did include wifi, which was super slow, and a very basic breakfast but I guess you can't expect too much with the kind of prices they charge. The people were quite friendly though and that certainly counts for something. All in all, if you are looking for a place to simply lay your head down on the cheap, this is a reasonably good spot. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay OR
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

This IS one of the older motels in town but the owners are constantly upgrading the rooms to keep them comfortable. New beds and bathroom fixtures this year are good examples.

Walking distance to some GREAT restaurants and the funky west eugene neighborhoods. Just 1 block from the always eclectic live music at the WOW Hall and 2 blocks from the best Pizza in town at Pipeline Pizza.

If you need a place to sleep and don't need luxury this is the place. The people are friendly and will do what they can to help you with whatever you need. I Like IT!

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — sometimes I forget to call ahead and they are full.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

I have been coming out to Eugene from the Midwest about once every other month for the past two years while I have been building a home in the Eugene area. After trying several other motels in the area, I have settled on the Downtown Motel for all of my stays. The couple that runs the place knows me now and always makes sure I have my preferred room. It's clean, the bed is comfortable, it's quite afordable. The room has a fridge and a microwave, which means I don't have to eat out every meal. The wireless internet is great -- something most motels at this price point don't necessarily provide. I have never had any issues with this place.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, affordable
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank denkifuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.5 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.5 km away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#13 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn

Property: Downtown Inn
Address: 361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,594 - ₹ 7,095
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Inn. We are uniquely located in spectacular downtown Eugene, Oregon. Whether you're visiting Eugene for business, vacationing in our scenic wonderland, taking in the unbelievable sights of the Eugene area, or just passing through, the Downtown Inn will provide you with just the right kind of accommodations to make your visit a pleasurable one. We are only two and half blocks from the Hult Center for the Performing Arts, and Eugene Hilton Conference Center. We are the closest motel to the Wings Seminars, and very close to University of Oregon, Valley River Center, Oakway Mall, Sacred Heart Hospital, and many parks and open spaces. Contact us for group booking rates. Truck and bus parking is available. With our full service staff, convenient location, and wide range of amenities, Downtown Inn is a great choice for all your lodging needs. GIVE US A TRY FOR YOUR NEXT STAY IN EUGENE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing