We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception”
Review of Inn at the 5th

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the 5th
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Deception”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Valet service greeted us with a smile, check-in was easy. It is a nice hotel, but we will not be back. I do not like deception. At check out I asked if there was a charge for water because the bottles are so cute and was told no charge. Our bill showed a $10.00 charge for water. Back in I go and say, "You said there was no charge for the water." The same girl replies, "The water is free, the bottle it comes in is $10.00." Very disappointing way to end our stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank plwtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at the 5th, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for complimenting our Valet and Front Desk Services. We strive to provide immaculate guest service, and I'm happy to hear that you did have positive experiences with our staff. I do apologize for the confusion regarding our in-room water bottles. In keeping up with our interests in conservation and sustainability, we reuse our glasses. I wish I could have met with you while you were here to take care of this for you, as it is such a pity that you ended a wonderful stay on a negative note. I hope that you would give us a chance to make it up to you and consider our hotel for your future Eugene travel needs. Please contact me directly to make arrangements or if you would like to speak to me further.

Warm Regards,
Amber Starnes
Guest Services Manager
astarnes@innat5th.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    106
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
302
262
51
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had one disaster, which was a gas fireplace in Room 322 that came on randomly after we were asleep at about midnight the second night of our two night stay, forcing us to evacuate to another room when no one in the hotel at that hour could figure out how to make it go off and stay off. To the hotel's great credit, when I suggested at check out the next morning that our room should be comped for that one night because of the tremendous inconvenience to us and extremely disrupted sleep, the hotel readily agreed, so I bear nothing but goodwill towards the hotel as a result of this misfortune. But don't stay in Room 322 unless the hotel assures you the fireplace issue has been fixed permanently!

The hotel is basically very lovely and something Eugene has needed for a long time. The decor is spectacular, and everything is deligtfully clean and fresh. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a great convenience that it offers nighttime shuttle service to concert venues. Its location next to Marche restaurant could not be better, with lots of little shops and other restaurants nearby and the Hult Center a short walk away, plus easy access on foot to the river trail. Yes, as other reviewers have noted, the train runs by there and can be heard when it does. But our sleep was not disrupted by the train.

All of our complaints are minor and certainly would not prevent us from staying there again. To the contrary, I cannot imagine staying at any other Eugene hotel now that I have stayed here.

The few complaints are:
--as noted by other reviewers, the lack of windows that open to admit fresh air. Our bellman said it was for safety reasons. Baloney. It is easy enough to design opening windows--with grilles, for example, that I have seen elsewhere, or strong permanently installed screens-- that people cannot fall out of, but the hotel just didn't do it. However, the air conditioning system was effective to cool the room.
--in Room 215, the room to which we were evacuated in the middle of the night, there was a noisy refrigerator which I fixed by pulling it out and unplugging it.
--lack of translucent window shades that would let you get dressed in privacy without having to pull down the blackout curtains. Room 322, for example, looks directly into the windows of shops next door, so needs that intermediate layer of privacy. If you pull down the only curtains provided, you then need to turn on a light to see anything.
--sleeping under a duvet in summer is like being smothered by a polar bear. I don't know why hotels are so crazy about duvets. I'd greatly prefer a simple blanket or two (and blankets are washable now, too), maybe just a light blanket under the duvet so the bed would still have a tidy look but the duvet could be tossed aside at night. Perhaps blankets are an option here, but we didn't see any and didn't ask.
--the toilet in Room 322 is behind a sliding glass door about five feet from the head of one sleeper. Fine if you are only one person in the room, but a little embarrassing if you are a couple because it pretty much feels and sounds as though the toilet is right in the bedroom.
--the only instructions provided for the coffeemaker were little drawings on the machine itself, which is fine I'm sure if you are familiar with that type of machine. We were not sure whether we needed to open the little coffee pod(s) or just insert them as is (it is the latter; they are automatically punctured by the machine). Written instructions would have been nice. Also, it is silly to provide 4 coffee pods but only 2 creams, since it is possible both guests will want cream or milk in each of their coffees, as we do.
--in Room 322, one side of the bed lacked a reading light, and had only a wooden stump sort of thing as a bedside table. At these room prices, expecially, it surprised us that one side of the king sized bed lacked a light. One could easily be installed on the wall, as space is tight there between the bed and the closet.
--the showers are beautiful, but lack grab bars or non-skid mats, at least in room 322. Older guests like us, who don't yet need accommodations for the disabled, do like the option of a non-skid shower mat.
--I was able to consult a Eugene map on my Ipad, but it would be a nice touch to have a paper street map of Eugne prominently in the room someplace that a guest could stick in purse or pocket to consult once outside the hotel. We didn't see any.

Otherwise, this is a really, really nice hotel. I provide these criticisms to help the hotel become better, not to discourage people from staying here. Also, I think there is a large variety in room types so ask for the specific details when you reserve. For example, if you reserve a room with doors opening to a balcony, fresh air would not be an issue.

I don't comment here on things we didn't try out, including the spa or room service. And I'll put in a last plug for Marche restaurant: we ate 5 meals there and loved each one. I think their food is terrific and I wish we had a restaurant this good in Bend. It is pure Heaven to dine on their outdoor terrace on a warm summer evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libragrl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night here in July 2012. The hotel was everything you'd expect for $230 per night: soft cozy beds, first-class toiletries, even complimentary bottled water in the room. The hotel is very clean and modern.
The airline lost our luggage and the staff were very accommodating about trying to track it down and even driving us back to the airport to look for it. There is a free Airport shuttle as well.
I wished we could have stayed longer but it was cost-prohibitive so had to stay the rest of our trip at a most cost-friendly hotel. Our one night was a real treat, though!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bike-n-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn at the 5th for four nights and just loved it! The employees are helpful, the rooms are luxurious and the room service food was great! Already made reservations for our next trip.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed at this place in April of 2012 while visiting UO. I liked the hotel location and amenities very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mali2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,034 reviews
1.7 km away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#5 of 35 in Eugene
670 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.9 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.8 km away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the 5th? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the 5th

Property: Inn at the 5th
Address: 205 E 6th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-3075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,214 - ₹ 24,612
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the 5th 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the 5th is a "very special boutique hotel" offering elegant accommodations and the ultimate in personal service in the bustling heart of Eugene, Oregon. Our luxurious boutique hotel echoes all that makes Eugene unique, from its artistic, sophisticated design to the high-end dining, spa and shopping available onsite at the 5th Street Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Inn at the 5th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing