We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner is a maniac”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Owner is a maniac”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Be warned if you do anything wrong the owner may threaten you with violence. His name is mac and cheese and he needs to be locked up.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hippieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    13
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
15
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Nice hostel. Excellent location in an interesting neighborhood close to good grocery stores, restaurants, a microbrewery and a riverfront park. Courteous staff with prompt service. Main location is relatively quiet though a train goes by with some regularity. I slept through it. The annex is closer to the train tracks and I've heard guests and residents there say it's a lot harder to sleep there.

The only issues were:
* My reservations, which I made online, did not match what was in the hostel's computer system, and I did not wind up getting the type of room I booked online. Luckily, they worked things out and I got a room at all. Some folks who arrived after me were not so lucky. I suggest contacting the hostel directly in advance to confirm you have the room and location you think you reserved.
* The staff and their friends hang out at the main location when not working (apparently staff live at the hostel) so it can get congested, especially the kitchen, and many of them smoke outside in the garden.
* They have only one kitchen with one stove, and it can be hard to get stove space with the many staff cooking their food.
* Several private rooms are located off of a dorm so they are not as quiet as a typical private bedroom and the private rate seems a bit unfair. Contact the hostel to make sure you know what you're reserving.

Room Tip: Contact hostel to confirm reservation is correct
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

It's an ok hostel - security is a problem for sure. I never write reviews but I stayed in the hostel last year and spent $30 on a grocery order and one of the staff members (or someone they new) stole my entire grocery order out of the fridge. Clearly this has bitten as me for a while and although giving this hostel a pass mark, this sort of thing needs mentioning as I'm sure others would have had this happen to them ... tip ... buy a $10 grocery order and hedge your bet ... haha

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jphcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I've stayed here several times over the past year. It's a good place. Whiteaker is an offbeat and chill little neighborhood in Eugene that I like more than most. It's safe, It's close to parks, good food and town. The Hostel employees are usually young temporary workers passing through - most of which aren't stellar at 'customer relations' but are perfectly good people. Mac, the owner, is super friendly and helpful. It is always super clean here. Front doors lock at night with a code. It has a real homey atmosphere to it. I've stayed here solo and with friends in some of the bigger rooms. The loft in the Annex has got to be the coolest little apartment in all of Eugene. I wish I could live in it!

So, it's not perfect, and it is, after all, a hostel - so one has to put up with noise at night sometimes or the occasional sketchy folks hanging out, or maybe a confused and grumpy temporary worker - but there's also lots of neat people who pass through here and work here.

If you're going to camp, it's a bit noisy because of a nearby factory and that durn train that goes by blaring its horn all night. But if it's raining (which it usually is here in Eugene) then camping is NICE and QUIET, much more so than the dorm rooms. Oh, pancakes, coffee and oatmeal every morning? Nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I've travelled all over the world and stayed at tons of hostels. This one is at the top. It has a well-stocked library, a full kitchen with all the utensils you could ever need, clean bathrooms, a theater, movies you can watch on your laptop or in the theater for free, a cool common area, great location, and fun backyard. It's got everything you could ever need. The staff was immensely helpful. I highly recommened this hostel to anyone!! A fun place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaktii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.3 km away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
1,002 reviews
1.1 km away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#5 of 34 in Eugene
639 reviews
1.5 km away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#16 of 34 in Eugene
541 reviews
0.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene Whiteaker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene Whiteaker Hostel

Property: Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Address: 970 West 3rd Ave, Eugene, OR 97402-4994
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Eugene
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,397 - ₹ 4,988
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene Whiteaker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique, art-filled and friendly Hostel located in the Whiteaker, Eugene OR. Dormitory beds & private rooms available for travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Eugene Whiteaker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing