We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not accomodating for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not accomodating for family”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Annoyed that this hotel would not even try to accomodate our family of five, we were simply told that they would not rent us a room. Will be looking elsewhere to take our 3 young children on a trip to the coast.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank weheartoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    125
    44
    35
    21
See reviews for
73
195
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was alright, seen better days, needs some upgrading, seriously need to rechaulk bathrooms. The housekeeper didn't check refrigerator, there was old milk and pizza in our fridge.
The rooms have newer flat screens, but they are on a dresser way away from bed across from kitchen counter area, should be a couch or something if you're going to put it there, our my suggestion would be to mount it over the fireplace in those rooms. Its a decent place, has some ammenities and is on the water, but having stayed at resorts like the Hilton Hawaiian Village and the Hilton Waikoloa Village, this is NOT a resort!
The "seafood buffet" was pretty lousy. Food just wasn't very good. Shrimp overcooked, crab was served cold but with melted butter?
We booked a weekend and according to their website it was winter rates, got there and found out that starting Saturday, it was spring break increased rate. We don't have kids, just went because it was supposed to be whale migration. They should have told us it was change rates on us. That wasn't cool at all. That said, it's decent, pretty clean. Nice location, steps down to a nice beach area and allows pets in some rooms. Has a pool and hot tub, which I can't comment on as we didn't use them, it was too crowded.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trex97701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

First, the one good thing about this hotel is the location. It has a beautiful view. Now the bad parts. We rented two adjoining rooms. They were quite outdated which we could overlook rather easily. However, the floors had large stains, and trim around the doors was just hanging there and looked as if someone had tried breaking in the rooms several times. One of the bathrooms had a tub that would barely drain, a non-functioning fan, and had approx 40-50 quarter sized black mold spots all over the walls. Can we really be the only ones that could see that? House cleaning missed large areas of black mold on white paint growing over a period of time? Then there is the restaurant. They force a 15% gratuity on you while not telling you. We were tipping 15% based on our total and they never told us that they had already hit us for 15%. They also tell you that they give a 10% discount if you are staying at the hotel. We presented our keycard and after reviewing our receipts they always "forgot", 30 seconds later, to take the 10% off. When getting takeout once they hit us for 15%, which I again had already tipped 15% (and yes they forgot to take off the 10% after I showed my room key again). I asked why I was paying a gratuity when I did not even eat in the restaurant. They said it is on the menu, but I did not use the menu for takeout. I knew what I wanted. When I told them I already tipped and I was tired of this, and they said it is not really a gratuity but actually a cost for handling the food and putting it in a Styrofoam container. I asked if people who were using the dishes and wait-staff were being charged an additional 15% for the exact same takeout container. They had no answer. They gave me a $5 credit on my $60 bill which also was hit for 30% of gratuities. They will hit you for premium prices on everything but deliver mediocre product. Save $800 and go somewhere, anywhere, else.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I recently spent three days at the Surfrider Resort in Depoe Bay Oregon. The hotel offers outstanding views of the pacific ocean. We were lucky enough to have stayed at the hotel during a winter storm. Watching the wave crashing on the beach from the comfort of our room was great!

We were met cheerfully at the front desk and the service was excellent. Our room was equipped with large windows overlooking the ocean, a balcony, a fireplace, microwave oven, small refrigerator, and a jacuzzi tub. All were in good working order.

As we arrived late we sample the restaurant which we found to be adequate but not outstanding.

If you are looking for a place to stay with a spectacular view of the ocean then this is the place for you. Great views, well appointed,and oh yes at a very reasonable price point.

Room Tip: For the best views of the pacific ocean pick an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upgraded.z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here before and left feeling that the good outweighed the bad. The interior is in despite need of updating but the staff was friendly and accommodating. Sadly this trip the room was dirty, large stains on the comforter and a shower and couch we didn't even want to sit on. We booked online on the companies website and got checked into a room different then what we had asked for, when we spoke to the front desk we were informed not to utilize the website, that it was our fault, nothing they could do. When we tried to use the toilet it would not flush. The manager joined us for two hours of our anniversary while he tried to unclog to toilet. There is nothing romantic about listening to the man plunge your toilet for two hours. Once it was fixed the manager made no apologies or offered any change in room or service.

They are monopolizing a gorgeous beach with a dated hotel and terrible customer service. We will never be back.

Room Tip: Apparently they do not honor anything booked or sold online on their website or any other call in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.0 km away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
371 reviews
6.2 km away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
361 reviews
16.5 km away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
680 reviews
23.0 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,040 reviews
20.3 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,535 - ₹ 20,984
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing