We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DELIGHTFUL surprise!”

Bay View Thai Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Depoe Bay
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 19
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Home comfort Thai food with joyful view of harbor dock. Heart of Depoe Bay Oregon with friendly community and people. Make a trip to try our signature dishes Bay view style.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

From the outside, this place appears to be a tiny, nondescript cafe and it would be easy to zip right by if you weren't looking for it (my husband was walking our dog from the motel we were staying in nearby and spotted it) but, like the TARDIS, it's much bigger on the inside. Tables with chairs; no booths. There's a built-in bar with stools but I didn't notice if they serve liquor or even beer and wine. A couple of locals were seated there waiting for their to-go orders. It's that kind of comfortable place. Simple decor; not in the least bit pretentious. Several tables along the windows looking out at the Depoe Bay marina (although the windows could have used washing). We ordered the Chicken Satay because...well...Thai restaurant and I hadn't had it in decades and YUM. We also ordered the special Crab Fried Rice which was AMAZINGLY delicious, and the Eggplant with Basil and Beef which was also very good (who knew eggplant didn't have to be slimey?!). The fellow who owns the place took our order and chatted with us for a little while, telling us he's had the restaurant for about five months. His menu has a lot to choose from to satisfy just about anyone who likes Thai or Asian food. He'll adjust the spicy-heat per your request, too, which was good because I'm a wimp when it comes to that. We wish him the VERY best and will be sure to come back here the next time we take a drive to the Coast!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank OriginalArloMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

The food was fine. Nothing particularly special. The flavors were average in terms of other Thai food I had. I did think the service was very good and the view of the bay was nice.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank zanehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Back for the third time. Wife, who isn’t usually a big Thai fan, ordered the drunken noodles, with chicken, and loved it. I had basil fried rice with squid, and it was delicious. They make their own hot table condiments, which were very good. The service was prompt and friendly. No complaints. Becoming my favorite Thai place. A pity we can’t get here more often.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 868jayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner, garlic & pepper chicken and vegetable & chicken stir fry in a spicy peanut sauce. Yuuummm. Tofu fresh roll expertly prepared. New owner has a lot of enthusiasm and personality.
Guaranteed fantastic experience.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank made_of_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

This restaurant did change hands, and is now called Bay View Thai, but the food is none the less EXCELLENT, in fact the BEST it has ever been!!! The owners are the sweetest people, the flavors and dishes will make your taste buds dance. We went with a friend who has been to may countries and has had Thai from the best places, and he was taken back as to how amazing the flavors were. Don't miss out....this place is a real gem!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay View Thai Kitchen also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Gleneden Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bay View Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing