We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
6
7
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
7
5
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Food was cold and undercooked the service was terrible to say the least and the so called owner was drunk and belligerent and not to mention rude. The rooms are severly lacking, the obly redeeming feature was leaving.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unhhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed at the motel which one would guess was built prior to 1940s. It was clean and provided the essentials for an overnight but nothing more. Showed the wear of lots of years but management obviously have worked to keep it up. Liked the fact that there were carports for the motorcycles although one had to make sure the bikes side stands would not sink into the gravel. Looked like a hunter may have plucked a duck in the carport I was in due to the abundance of feathers. Very helpful staff at both motel and cafe. Food at the cafe was satisfactory and service was as well.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with car ports on the south end of the property may be older then on the north end.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

It seems quite rare these days to find a genuine family restaurant, based upon community, good service, and great food. (I did not actually stay in the motel, I merely ate in the restaurant several times throughout my visit to Chiloquin). I was in town staying with an old family friend, and she brought me several times to eat at Melitas. We had a blast! I believe out of all the items on the menu, the burgers had to be my favorite, although the steak was a close second. And as a lifelong fan of potatoes of the mashed variety, I am pleased to say that my rather high standards were met with their mashed potatoes. The homemade chocolate cream pie was absolutely to die for! But perhaps even more enjoyable than the food itself was how personable the staff was. They were extremely friendly and, depending on how busy the restaurant was, would periodically come over to say hello. The owners would sometimes be in the restaurant as well, and we had several conversations with them; both were very funny and courteous.
An interesting aspect of Melitas was how innovative they were. The waitresses, instead of simply writing down orders on a pad of paper, used iphones. Apparently there is some sort of app that they may have even developed that would bring up a menu for them, which was quite as efficient as simply writing down the orders (and certainly wasted less paper). I suppose they're quite environmentally friendly. It was rather a surprising thing to find in a small town restaurant, especially considering I have never seen such methods used in larger, busier restaurants in the big cities.
Melitas was a satisfying blend of delicious food and great service. It's a good place to stop for the night for anyone driving through Oregon. If I ever stay in Chiloquin again, I know the first place I'll stop to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: tirare di lungo senza esitazioni
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews