We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden surprise in charming Carlton!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Hidden surprise in charming Carlton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent a delightful and cozy evening with Heidi and her friendly Brittany, Jake. We felt so welcome and at home and our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious and Heidi makes everything from scratch (including yogurt!). So impressive. It was such fun to walk into town for dinner and Heidi was so helpful in providing us with suggestions for visiting nearby attractions. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will return, hopefully for more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I spent the Memorial Day weekend at the Carlton Inn. It had been quite a while since we stayed at a B&B, something we used to do frequently. We had a very enjoyable stay - great town, fabulous wineries, road biking opportunities in all directions. We'll definitely be doing more of this in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

First let me start by saying I find it incredibly difficult to find a really quality place to stay that is somewhat centrally located in Oregon Wine Country. The limited accommodations book up quickly and are often sterile hotels or overly lacey bnbs. Carlton Inn was a completely different story - perfectly appointed, gracious inn keeper, and right in the thick of things. My girlfriend and I snuck away for a ladies weekend to Oregon Wine Country and were delighted when we checked into Heidi's lovely bnb. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and provided recommendations and tips - without seeming overly pushy - there to help not to overwhelm. She made a dinner reservation for us and called ahead to ensure they had vegetarian options for my travel buddy as well as made us one of the most memorable breakfasts I've had away from home. Her hazelnut pancake recipe is now a staple at our house. :) She's deeply invested in her local community and love that our breakfast was sourced from completely local farmers (or her own garden). I would highly recommend this destination. Must stay! Can't wait to go back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watergrrl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Within walking distance of 20+ wine tasting rooms. Heidi was friendly, accomodating and an expert on all our questions about the local area. Her breakfasts are made with local produce/ingredients and impressively delicious. We also really loved the homey feel of everything, right down to their faithful dog "Jake". Stay here when you're visiting Carlton... You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coutures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had a delightful one-night stay at the Carlton Inn.

We wanted a central location so that we could explore the town in our spare time without having to drive, and this was perfect.

The back porch is a lovely location for some morning or afternoon reading with Jake the dog by your side and goldfinches buzzing around the garden.

There's a small park 1/4 mile or so down the hill where we were able to enjoy a nice morning walk off the streets.

Breakfast is simply fabulous. Homemade yogurt, local eggs and fruit, delicious muffins. Can't say enough.

Heidi is a gracious and engaging host.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveVisitingOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
10.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
9.4 km away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
17.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
12.9 km away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
14.3 km away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 648 W Main St, Carlton, OR 97111-9116
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,164 - ₹ 12,436
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you arrive as a guest... Depart as a friend. Built in 1915, The Carlton Inn B&B is located within the charming community of Carlton, known as Oregon's most walkable wine district, "The Wine Capital of Oregon." A short walk and you will discover nearly two dozen tasting rooms and wineries as well as unique shops and wonderful restaurants. Within our B&B find four comfortable guestrooms, each with a private bathroom, equipped with blow dryer, fluffy towels, bath and body products; and two king rooms, and two queen-sized beds, each encased in soft microfiber sheets, and a warm, fluffy comforter; a living room with fireplace and TV area, and a shaded back porch overlooking the garden. You will dine on a multi-course breakfast prepared from scratch, using local products and produce when possible, some coming from the Inn's own garden and chickens. The Inn is considered a wine country destination, for this reason, no children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing