We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend getaway”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Loved this resort. Second time staying here and their welcoming note in our room with salt water taffy for our second visit was a nice little touch. We love how this resort caters to our dog. This dog friendly resort provides a warm water shower head to clean your pets paws after walks on the sandy beach, and greets them with treats and towels in their doggy bone shaped basket in the room upon arrival! Love the attention to little details. They also provide cabana service for lounging on the beach, the staff is friendly and will cater to your every need. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

We're glad to hear you and your pooch had a fun stay. We hope to see you in the future.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,604)
There are newer reviews for Surfsand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,334 - 2,338 of 2,604 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel has it all- close access to beach and Haystack Rock, restaurant nearby, shuttle or walk to art galleries downtown, indoor swimming pool, yummy bathrobes, friendly staff, pet friendly, kids activities, beach bonfires- you name it!! Newly refurbished! Stayed in partial view room this visit and still could see "The Rock" - just not panoramic view. Went to see the puffins and thoroughly enjoyed watching and photographing! Just have a long lens and quick responses! Binoculars set up on beach to see them nesting on Rock. Wonderful time for all ages!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

We are glad to hear the Surfsand is part of your family tradition. Here's to making more memories!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is undoubtedly the best property in Cannon Beach. We stayed there for a long weekend and everything was perfect about this place. We chose a higher floor room with a 180 degree view of the beach. The room was super comfy with breathtaking views of the Haystack rock. We would catch a glimpse of the sunset every evening from our balcony with a glass of wine - divine! We had excellent breakfast and dinner in the adjacent Wayfarer restaurant. The resort is also in close proximity to other cafes and seafood joints, so we took advantage and tried some of them out. One night we had a bon fire on the beach - they arranged for a couple of chairs, some wooden logs, blankets and s'mores. I would also recommend a rejuvenating swedish massage in their spa. All in all, a great place for a weekend unwinder and we would be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

We are glad you found the room to your liking and were able to take advantage of our many amenities and activities. The spa is certainly a great way to relax while you're staying here.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We arrived at Surfsand Resort for a 3 day weekend and loved everything about it! First of all- you can't beat the location right on the beach at Haystack Rock. And we were a 1/2 mile walk/bike ride into town. The hotel staff will also drive you into town if you wish. We had a room with a 180 view on the third floor. It was a small queen bed studio with a fridge, microwave, and a fireplace. Comfy bed and the best view in the hotel, IMO! We were lulled to sleep each night by the sound of the ocean waves. The room was clean, modern, and comfortable, and pleasant to spend time in. Our balcony had 2 chairs and a little table - perfect for watching the sunset with a glass of wine! The staff here was above and beyond friendly and helpful.

One night we arranged for a cozy bon fire on the beach. They set up chairs, gave us a bundle of wood and blankets, and started the fire for us. You can even get the stuff to make s'mores if you want!

We will be going back, and we have dubbed Surfsand Resort "Our place".

Room Tip: Room 1316 - 180 degree view of the beach. Pretty quiet - just a little noise from the room above, bu...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtsySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Thank you for your kind words about the Surfsand. We can't wait to have you back!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

And they understand details at the Surfsand Resort!

Although it’s been years since we’ve stayed at the property, I read recent reviews so I expected a nice room. We wanted ocean front, with a balcony, fireplace, and soaking tub or Jacuzzi. That’s what I asked for when I made reservations, but when I got our confirmation just days before our stay the room was listed as a partial view with a one person soaking tub. Not exactly what I had in mind, and I called again, concerned that we’d be disappointed. Monica at the front desk told me I’d like the room, the view was only limited to the South towards Hay Stack Rock, and it was still ocean front. We we decided to keep the reservation, and since the weather was due to change, even moved up our dates by a day. She made the changes with no problems at all.

When we arrived to check in I wasn’t surprised by the coffee in the lobby, or even the warm cookies. A lot of places have both. It was nice to see two different dispensers with fruit flavored iced water and salt water taffy also available. Getting to the room, Hay Stack Rock was still visible from the balcony, it was just over the rooftops of part of the resort. It was indeed beach front, with full views both West and North. I’d worried for nothing important to us. I liked the flat screen TV above the fireplace at the foot of the bed, but I expected that. I liked the DVD player, but Surfsand also offers an extensive selection of free DVD rentals, and when I picked up both Moneyball and The Descendants they gave me popcorn for the microwave. I’d nearly forgotten that the room had a microwave and refrigerator very discretely hidden behind doors above and below the bar area with the coffee pot. It got better, there were also plates, bowls, utensils, cups and bar glasses for two…even a roll of paper towels along with the usual assortment of coffees, teas, and cocoa. Very nice, and again, just more than we expected. Then, when I was already happy, a resort employee stopped by the room to drop off a bag of saltwater taffy with a note welcoming us back.

On each side of the balcony sliders (the whole wall is basically glass for a full view of the ocean) were windows with 6 inch sliding panes at about chair level that you can leave open at night to hear the ocean with the balcony door locked. We have always liked rooms that have those at the coast so it’s mostly expected. What delighted us though was that across the back of the love seat by the balcony was a cozy warm throw, so we could sit and watch and hear the surf even while it was chilly and rainy. Did I say there was also an IPod docking station next to the bed? Or that the bed had a TempurPedic mattress? Or that we had our choice of down pillows or fiber fill? Or that turn down service included lots of chocolate mints, and soft music turned on? We slept REALLY well!

In the bathroom we found Aveda bath products, some of my favorites, as well as a fully functioning blow drier. I have thick hair that seems to never dry with those lame driers bolted to the wall in so many hotels. Good soaps, good hair products, duel headed glass shower (oh, did I forget to mention that), as well as a lovely soaking tub…with a very cool wall pocket screen that opens to the sleeping area so you can open it, lie in the tub and watch TV or close it if you prefer privacy. One of the very best designed tubs I’ve seen, and big enough for two if cozy is OK.

We just kept finding little touches that were well thought out, enhanced our experience, and were more than expected. We had rainy cold weather, and the quality of the room made for a very pleasant relaxing stay instead of what could have been a disappointing little trip. We live about 90 minutes from the coast, and don’t always spend the night, but next time we do, I’m sure I’ll ask for room 2304

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mmfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

We are glad you found the room and all of its amenities to your liking. We hope to see you return.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
2.1 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,118 reviews
1.6 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,580 reviews
1.9 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,841 reviews
12.1 km away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.9 km away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: ₹ 9,046 - ₹ 24,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing