We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Sweet Basil's Cafe

Sweet Basil's Cafe
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Offering a healthy choice at the coast. Many vegetarian and Gluten free options. House smoked pork and meat options also available. At dinner Cajun/Creole dishes are featured plus local Northwest ingredients. Live music nightly in the Wine Bar.
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Second time here and this time my wife asked to put some spice and heat in the seafood jambalaya and it turned out absolutely exceptional. Service was great. We asked for a bottle of wine from the bar and the Chardonnay was chilled to perfection. The ribs that was a special from the Chef was also very very good. Don't hesitate to ask for the specials.

3  Thank Fredrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsilverfox, Owner at Sweet Basil's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for your review and I'm happy you enjoyed your visit. Also, yes try the nights special when here I usually try to highlight different ingredients than what's on our menu.

John S
Chef/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We ate there a couple of nights ago, had the seafood jambalaya, which was superb! On the strength of that experience we canceled our reservation for this evening at a different restaurant and went back to Sweet Basil. We had the crawfish etouffee. Again fabulous! This chef really has his act together! Cajun cooking at its best! Don't miss this experience!

1  Thank daverip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsilverfox, Owner at Sweet Basil's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. We always appreciate it when our guests enjoy their visits. Glad you had a chance to try our etouffee

john sowa
chef/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The two telltale signs (in my opinion) of a dirty restaurant are the menus and the washroom. If both of those are dirty, then chances are the whole place isn’t very clean.
When we got there, we got handed these paper, ripped, food-stained menus. On the front, they said that the wait is long, and they may refuse to change a dish as they spend a long time picking it out. Not a complaint, just saying.
The bread is good, but they keep the butter in the aluminum foil. The waitress was nice, and the jambalaya is AMAZING.
However, the washroom was dirty and stuff was duct taped. Yuck.
Overall, the food was good but the hygiene, and the wait gives it 3 stars. The waitress bumped it up from 2.

3  Thank Connor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We ate lunch at this restaurant. The menu looked appealing and the surroundings looked very comfortable. They have an excellent out door deck as well as indoor seating. We were asked to wait about 10 minutes so that they could catch up. We actually waited 35 minutes for a table. The owner of the restaurant warns on his menu that they are not fast here so we were patient. There were a total of people working. We were seated inside which we were fine with. The table was directly opposite their "water closet" which was really a public bathroom. They allow anyone - customer or not - to use it.
Once we placed our orders, it took 40 minutes for our food to arrive. The eggplant sandwich was pretty good. The tofu sandwich was not. The pesto was just ok.
We invested a little over an hour and 45 minutes into this meal. It was not that good. Would I eat here again? Only if I did not have to wait so long. The food is not worth the wait. And the people are not very friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Thickhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Very good food in a funky little place. Very nice waitress. My food was quite rich (crab stuffed portobello) and I would have liked something like a cracker or bread to counter that. Not sure they even have that, though. Husband had crab cakes and loved them. We would go back for special occasions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mamamary5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsilverfox, Owner at Sweet Basil's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

thank you for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Basil's Cafe also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sweet Basil's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing