We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nicely appointed, good service. Some issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Ranked #6 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, nicely appointed, good service. Some issues...”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Enjoyed one evening at Cannon Beach in one of the beach facing suites at Sea Sprite. The room was quite nicely appointed, with interesting decor, and had a decent sized kitchen. Excellent view of the beach and haystack rock. Rooms were clean, if a bit basic.

Only minor complaints was the price was relatively high for the quality of stay (although this seems to be common to Cannon Beach) and the bathroom shower was tiny.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radioflyer0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    27
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed in Haystack #3, which has a great view of the ocean & haystack rock. It is just a few steps to the beach...or when the weather was too blustery, you could have a fire & watch the waves in comfort. Having a kitchen is especially nice & this one was well equipped (plenty of pots & pans, a blender, toaster, coffee maker, etc.). I would hightly recommend the Sea Sprite!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The location of the Sea Sprite is fantastic - an easy walk to Cannon Beach and the hotel offers a beautiful view of Haystack rock. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite which was nice and clean with a good ground floor view. However, if we return we would stay in a second floor room instead as the view is even better and a drawback to the Lighthouse Suite is you can hear people walking over head. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed in the Sea Breeze Cottage - #5. It is truly an oceanfront lodging with ocean views from every room except the bath. The only separation between us and the Pacific was a small lawn and sand. The resident bunny family were wonderful hosts, escorting us to the steps of the beach and greeting us upon return. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean was bliss.

Housekeeping was efficient and respectful and the cottage itself was immaculate. It has a fully operational kitchen with all sorts of utensils and appliances. We bought our groceries upon arrival and prepared our meals ourselves. After our evening meals, we turned on the fireplace - which is a very nice amenity- and settled in to listen to the ocean.

At first I thought it was a little pricey but considering that I had my own private ocean front cottage, I now think it was a relatively good value. The only suggestion I dare make is that the water temperature be turned up a bit. The temperature was sufficient for showering and such but could stand to be higher, especially during the colder months.

Last thing: when meandering along the beach, be sure to look inland once in while - the hills set against the changing coastal sky are a sight to see.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F0xTr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I spent 3 nights at the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock, in room 1A. The room is small, but they manage to pack a lot into it, including a double bed, table with 2 chairs, small kitchen and tiny bathroom. The bed was comfortable but I came there from a BnB inland where I had 1000-thread count sheets, so the bed suffered by comparison. There is a TV with DVD player, and a small library of DVDs is available in the lobby. There is reserved parking for each room. Behind the inn there are picnic table and beach chairs which overlook the ocean. I spent a lot of time in those chairs! There are several rabbits that live on the property, and they were very tame. Although you could not pet them, they would eat the grass under the chair you were sitting in, which could be a surprise when they hopped out from under you. One morning I left my room to see two rabbits going at it, well, like bunnies. A neighbor had a radio playing "Love Shack" at loud volume. It was great timing.

The bathroom is small - and the shower is tiny. I am 5' 8" and needed to lean back to rinse my hair. If you are over 6' you would have trouble, and if you are over 6' 4", I don't think you would be able to stand completely straight. Be warned! :)

After my first night, the room was made up and the bed made. After my second night, although fresh towels were brough, the rest of the room was not made up. That is the only reason for the lower service grade.

I got a good price, and the location is good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.2 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.1 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.5 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
1.1 km away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
1.4 km away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock

Property: Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Address: 280 Nebesna St, PO Box 933, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3126
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,316 - ₹ 28,959
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Cannon Beach oceanfront inn offering studios, one and two bedroom suites and cottages overlooking Haystack Rock.For generations families vacationing in Cannon Beach have chosen to reconnect and enjoy the simpler things in life at the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock. With charming rooms overlooking Haystack Rock and the spectacular Oregon Coast and a staff that is passionate about helping each guest create cherished moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite At Haystack Rock Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing