We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Nearby Hotels
Surfsand Resort(Cannon Beach)
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
US$ 449
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Lodge(Cannon Beach)
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 213
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
74
28
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
28
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse suitefull kitchenhaystack rockfree washer and dryercharming roomoceanfront hotelbeach frontwatch tvground floorthe location is perfectsized bedbeach accessview of the oceanseparate bedroomgas fireplacewould definitely stay here againstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed in Haystack #3, which has a great view of the ocean & haystack rock. It is just a few steps to the beach...or when the weather was too blustery, you could have a fire & watch the waves in comfort. Having a kitchen is especially nice & this one was well equipped (plenty of pots & pans, a blender, toaster, coffee maker, etc.). I would hightly recommend the Sea Sprite!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The location of the Sea Sprite is fantastic - an easy walk to Cannon Beach and the hotel offers a beautiful view of Haystack rock. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite which was nice and clean with a good ground floor view. However, if we return we would stay in a second floor room instead as the view is even better and a drawback to the Lighthouse Suite is you can hear people walking over head. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed in the Sea Breeze Cottage - #5. It is truly an oceanfront lodging with ocean views from every room except the bath. The only separation between us and the Pacific was a small lawn and sand. The resident bunny family were wonderful hosts, escorting us to the steps of the beach and greeting us upon return. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean was bliss.

Housekeeping was efficient and respectful and the cottage itself was immaculate. It has a fully operational kitchen with all sorts of utensils and appliances. We bought our groceries upon arrival and prepared our meals ourselves. After our evening meals, we turned on the fireplace - which is a very nice amenity- and settled in to listen to the ocean.

At first I thought it was a little pricey but considering that I had my own private ocean front cottage, I now think it was a relatively good value. The only suggestion I dare make is that the water temperature be turned up a bit. The temperature was sufficient for showering and such but could stand to be higher, especially during the colder months.

Last thing: when meandering along the beach, be sure to look inland once in while - the hills set against the changing coastal sky are a sight to see.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F0xTr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I spent 3 nights at the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock, in room 1A. The room is small, but they manage to pack a lot into it, including a double bed, table with 2 chairs, small kitchen and tiny bathroom. The bed was comfortable but I came there from a BnB inland where I had 1000-thread count sheets, so the bed suffered by comparison. There is a TV with DVD player, and a small library of DVDs is available in the lobby. There is reserved parking for each room. Behind the inn there are picnic table and beach chairs which overlook the ocean. I spent a lot of time in those chairs! There are several rabbits that live on the property, and they were very tame. Although you could not pet them, they would eat the grass under the chair you were sitting in, which could be a surprise when they hopped out from under you. One morning I left my room to see two rabbits going at it, well, like bunnies. A neighbor had a radio playing "Love Shack" at loud volume. It was great timing.

The bathroom is small - and the shower is tiny. I am 5' 8" and needed to lean back to rinse my hair. If you are over 6' you would have trouble, and if you are over 6' 4", I don't think you would be able to stand completely straight. Be warned! :)

After my first night, the room was made up and the bed made. After my second night, although fresh towels were brough, the rest of the room was not made up. That is the only reason for the lower service grade.

I got a good price, and the location is good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock delivers on its promise to provide a wonderful Oregon northcoast beach experience. We stayed for two weeks and were extremely pleased with our accommodations and the location. There are several Sea Sprite properties in Cannon Beach and this one is located steps from the beach just south of the magnificent Haytack Rock sea stack and about one mile south of Cannon Beach. The property at Haystack Rock consists of one building with four one bedroom apartments and two cottages that can accommodate six people each. One of the cottages is connected to the manager's officer and is set back from the ocean. The ocean front cottage and the two upstairs apartments have wonderful views of the ocean. The downstairs apartments are below a slight rise and you have to stand up to see the ocean. Our downstairs apartment was not well insulated from the noise upstairs but we needed to be on the ground level due to health reasons. If you can climb stairs, choose one of the upstairs apartments for both the view and the relative quiet.

Our apartment was bright, clean and the kitchen was adequately equipped. The shower is a bit small but useable and the bed was quite comfortable. It was cool the entire time we were there (high 50s to mid-60s), which is probably the norm for summer. You can only open one window in the front of the apartment, so cross ventilation is a slight problem, but there is a ceiling fan. The view of Haystack Rock and the ocean is teriffic. There are picnic tables and chairs between the property and the ocean and a brick grill for charcoaling. Daily housekeeping (changing towels, linens if required and emptying trash) is provided as part of the rent and there is a free washer and dryer for guests to use. Every apartment has a television with VCR/DVD and many movies are available in the manager's office. Our room had a gas fireplace as I suspect did all of the rooms. Free wireless internet access is provided.

The property is accessible to four miles of beautiful beach. You can walk into Cannon Beach proper from either the beach or Hemlock Street, the main drag. Walking is a good idea because parking can be a problem, particularly on weekends when the town becomes very crowded. If you are planning to prepare your own meals, the closest large grocery is in Surfside, about 15 minutes north. There are a couple of small but reasonabley adequate grocery stores in Cannon Beach as well as a liquor store and several good wine shops. During the summer an excellent farmer's market sets up shop in front of the city hall on Tuesdays; we purchased an exquisite salmon filet from the market as well as local cheeses and baked goods. There are also several very fine restaurants in town--we particularly recommend JP's, The Wayfarer, Sweet Basil's (gluten free and vegan dishes available), The Lazy Susan and Doogers Seafood & Grill. We were not able to try Newmans at 988 but it appeared to have the most ambitious (and expensive) menu in town. We heard good things about The Bistro but were also not able to dine there. There are no gas stations in Cannon Beach although there were signs on Highway 101 indicating that you can buy gas at a local RV Park; we went to Surfside for gas.

There is plenty of good hiking in the area. We went south about eight miles to Oswald West State Park and north to Fort Stevens in Astoria for very good hikes that were not too hilly. Astoria, about 25 miles to the north, is an interesting town to visit, and Tillamock, home of the famous cheese factory, is about the same distance to the south. Cannon Beach is located about 80 miles northwest of Portland.

We can very much recommend the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock if Cannon Beach is your Oregon coastal destination. On its web site, the property advises a resident bunny family and yes, it is true. There are large domestic bunnies everywhere in the town (not jackrabbits but the kinds of rabbits that people raise as pets). We asked a local how this could be and the answer was that the bunnies escaped years ago and did what bunnies do--now they are everywhere! Children will be delighted by this added plus at the Sea Sprite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews