We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 rounding up; definitely recommended!”
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just stayed 3 nights at the Ocean Lodge in #207, a king/dormer room with floor-to-ceiling windows and sliding glass doors leading to a good-sized, private deck. The lodge has a fabulous location, right at the beach with Haystack Rock in full view. All that stands between guest and beach is an easy set of steps right next to the lodge. It's actually right next door to The Stephanie Inn, which is a very upscale property that offers a few more amenities but costs significantly more (like $150+ more for a similar room). It's a nice beach for walking; if you don't care about getting your feet wet or bring boots you can walk along the beach all the way to downtown Cannon Beach.

The staff members were uniformly efficient, accommodating and extremely pleasant. Everything was quite tidy. The lodge incorporates a lot of wood and wood trim and it was kept in very good shape. The small reception area has a big fireplace and a couple of comfy leather chairs.

Room 207 at Ocean Lodge is very nicely sized, comfortably laid out and well furnished, with a full-size very comfy sofa, big wicker trunk/coffee table, round table w/2 chairs suitable for in-room dining or laptop using, king sized bed with LOTS of pillows (we had 8 in our room!), chest of drawers, etc. There was a wet bar area which included a microwave and small fridge, coffeemaker w/all supplies, mugs, plates, etc. We had a full size gas fireplace and in the niche above that was a large, newish flatscreen TV plus a DVD player. DVDs from a large library - 200+ - are available for checkout from the front desk at no extra charge. (Although they do charge $1 a bag for popcorn, which seemed kind of silly. Hey, why not put a bag or two in the room with the coffee supplies and charge for extras?) The bathroom, although not luxuriously decorated (the counter was formica) is good-sized and has a very large, jetted tub and a separate shower. Plenty of nice towels and adequate little amenities.

There is a decent cold breakfast included with the room rate. It's set up in a nice upstairs area with seating for maybe 20 people, and they make it easy to take stuff back to your room by providing rimmed trays. They offered a few different cereals, including a pretty good granola, yogurt, a couple types of fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, bagels, coffee cake and, oddly, apple pie. They feature Sleepy Monk coffee, a very good brew from a locally based roaster. (By the way, the Sleepy Monk coffee house in town is great with really nice people, good espresso drinks, fantastic baked goods, and there is a wonderful little dinner restaurant - The Irish Table - that's part of the same business.)

In addition to the DVD library, Ocean Lodge has a lot of books and games available for guests' use. They don't have a fitness center but do offer guests a day pass to the local gym in town. They also permit pets in a few of the rooms and we saw several guests who had come with their (very happy) dogs. We were never bothered by pet or people noise. We did have some fairly entertaining weather - lots of rain, a fair amount of hail, some snow and what we thought were pretty high winds (apparently not high by local standards). None of this detracted from our stay.

We would definitely come back to Ocean Lodge but only if we could get one of the ocean view rooms. What's the point of staying at the beach if you can't see the water? Just like the much more expensive Stephanie Inn next door, probably half or fewer of the rooms have a water view.

PS If you want to snack or even nuke up a light meal in your room, might want to think about bringing groceries with you. The "big" market in Cannon Beach is dark, depressing and not very well stocked. The 1st thing we noticed about it was the big sign that said they were not accepting employment applications. How cheery.

Room Tip: Upstairs, ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,401 - 1,405 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Ocean Lodge sets a high standard for peace and relaxation. The rooms are comfortably decorated, beds have fine cotton sheets, a fireplace in each room & a breathtaking view of the ocean and of Haystack rock. The lodge like common areas promote visitors to sit and read or have a cup of coffee with a chocolate chip cookie (or two!).
There is nothing better than a windy Winter storm blowing outside and being able to hang out with a loved one or friends in such warmth and comfort.

Thanks Ocean Lodge!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Not only do we feel like we're in heaven at The Ocean Lodge, but so do our 2 chocolate labradors! We love this location. It's a little further down the road from the main district of Cannon Beach; however, we appreciate the quiet neighborhood and having beach access just outside our patio door. Fido will have his/her own dog bowl, towel, biscuits, and sheet to cover the foot of the bed. Having a narrow lawn just off the patio helps for those late night and early morning potty breaks, too! We love this quaint boutique style hotel. No room service or restaurant on site, but we don't mind. After spending so much time on the beach, it's nice to get in the car and enjoy some of the great restaurants within 5 to 7 minutes away. The king sized bed is comfortable and the room is spacious with a kitchenett and gas fireplace. A coffee shop is within walking distance, and The Stephanie is next door, serving breakfast and dinner in style. Our bathroom was a bit on the small side, but a small price to pay for slice of heaven!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the pet-friendly rooms and love the immediate beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights & loved our room, had excellent customer service from all employees & would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndavisjr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very charming hotel with great amenities. We stayed in a second-floor suite facing the ocean, with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was quiet, the view was great, the staff was great, and the morning breakfast was a satisfying no-frills continental style. Beach access is very close and we had a clear view of Haystack Rock to the South. Down the road is a nice variety of local shops and restaurants. We intend to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbsand120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.1 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,892 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,663 reviews
0.5 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
13.6 km away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.6 km away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#5 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: ₹ 13,202 - ₹ 25,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing