We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newberry National Volcanic Monument

Newberry National Volcanic Monument
Book In Advance
US$ 75.00*
and up
Deschutes River Kayaking Tour from Bend
Ranked #2 of 91 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's newest national monuments, this 55,500 acre area seeks to preserve unique accessible volcanic features.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Pretty nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Nice crater, interesting obsidian flow, great views from Paulina peak, and fun on east lake. Wish the drive up to the peak were paved instead of loose gravel, but was not too long of a drive. Worth a visit while in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mimijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    125
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Volcano and A Lava Tube Cave! Awesome!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We love volcanoes and had a wonderful time at the Newberry Volcanic Monument! Let's start with the Lava tube cave! A must if you love unusual things to do... We arrived shortly after 9:00 am. The only fee you pay is the park entrance fee which is $5.00 for the day. This lets you into the cave and then into all the park areas including the cinder cone drive and the monument centre. The cave was totally not what we expected. You arrive and are asked about other caves you have been in the last 5 years. Very important since they are screening for a fungal disease that is killing bats in the eastern part of the states. You are also asked if you want to rent a propane lantern for $5.00. We opted to do this and I'm so glad. We had brought along some LED flashlights but they weren't any good at all. This cave is pitch black and unless you have a large flashlight you will be stumbling around in the dark. We were there so early that not a lot of other people were around. Therefore we were in the cave all by ourselves. The entrance is a huge hole in the ground that you descend via stairs. You quickly lose daylight as you trek further in the cave. There is no exit except through the entrance, so use the restrooms first as you are in the cave for at least an hour. Very chilly in the cave. We walked with the lantern and I wish we had rented at least 2. The cave (tube) continues for about a mile underground and we only finished half of it before I wimped out on the family. I got a little claustrophobic and as the tunnel narrowed I had to turn around. The beginning of the tube is large and cavernous so I was ok. We then started meeting other people coming in the cave so didn't feel so alone... It was an incredible experience and I would recommend it to anyone! There is a book at the Newberry centre that is all about the Lava tube with pictures and a map of the tube. I picked one up for $2.50 and it describes the cave and gives you history as well about who discovered it and how it has changed over the years. The Newberry centre has lots of information about the area and how it came to be. You can get a pass to travel by car up the cinder cone (located outside the centre) and can see some amazing views from up there. Then you can walk along the lava fields below the cinder cone. Wear sunscreen as this gets hot since it's all black! Well worth the visit. Especially the cave!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank migamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington state
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

So many places to get out and hike around in. The obsidian flow is a must. If you have time do the hike to patricia falls.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stampmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, NV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visited the southern entrance and walked through the obsidian field and to a falls overlook - both very cool. They also have lakes, campgrounds, visitors center, and you can hike or drive to summit of mountain. We also visited the lava beds further north towards Bend and had a great time at the cinder cone and walking the lava fields. Note, to visit the cinder cone, the entrance gives you a time to visit as parking is limited at the top (you have 30 minutes to peruse once you are at the top). .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chit_chat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Abundant Wonders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My family has enjoyed visits here several times. We stayed in the rustic cabins at Paulina Lake and hiked around the lake, enjoying the spectacular views. The Big Obsidian Flow is an amazing walk over a mountain of glass. Sunset from Paulina Peak is not to be missed. Just north of the crater is the Lava Cast Forest, a bit of a dusty drive in the summer, but memorable enough to be worth going.
Bring your children here, spend a few days walking and really looking and get them excited about geology, wildlife, and being outdoors. It's a wonder-full world.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank glennagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newberry National Volcanic Monument also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Newberry National Volcanic Monument? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing