We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lots to do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newberry National Volcanic Monument

Newberry National Volcanic Monument
Book In Advance
US$ 75.00*
and up
Deschutes River Kayaking Tour from Bend
Ranked #2 of 89 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's newest national monuments, this 55,500 acre area seeks to preserve unique accessible volcanic features.
Sparks, NV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visited the southern entrance and walked through the obsidian field and to a falls overlook - both very cool. They also have lakes, campgrounds, visitors center, and you can hike or drive to summit of mountain. We also visited the lava beds further north towards Bend and had a great time at the cinder cone and walking the lava fields. Note, to visit the cinder cone, the entrance gives you a time to visit as parking is limited at the top (you have 30 minutes to peruse once you are at the top). .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chit_chat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    125
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Abundant Wonders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My family has enjoyed visits here several times. We stayed in the rustic cabins at Paulina Lake and hiked around the lake, enjoying the spectacular views. The Big Obsidian Flow is an amazing walk over a mountain of glass. Sunset from Paulina Peak is not to be missed. Just north of the crater is the Lava Cast Forest, a bit of a dusty drive in the summer, but memorable enough to be worth going.
Bring your children here, spend a few days walking and really looking and get them excited about geology, wildlife, and being outdoors. It's a wonder-full world.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank glennagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lava fields”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Amazing sites from top. Interesting information at the slide show in the visitor center. Informative literature about the history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEAVERTON
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Volcanic Monument is fun and educational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We visited both the Lavalands visitor center and the Big basalt Flow and both were really interesting. We drove up Lava Butte and the view is incredible. Its a bit of a drive off highway 97 but well worth it to see the lakes and falls. Definitely worth the visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fun selection of different things to Lava Cave was the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We went in mid July 2012. There are several different areas to visit in the monument as a whole and it's worth checking out the visitior center first.

We got there mid morning and we only had a 10 minute wait to drive up Lava Butte Cinder cone. You get half an hour to get up take in the view and then set off down. The reason they do this is because the parking lot is pretty small at the top. So I would reccomend getting there early to avoid a long wait.

As a previous reviewer said the walk from the parking lot is steep steps but a short one. The views from the top are spectacular and there is a NFS fire watching tower up at the top too, you can go in the base of it but not up the top as it is a working site. The drive up and down is a well surfaced but fairly narrow spiral road.

Nearby - follow the signs as you exit the parking lot, is the lava cave. My kids really enjoyed this. You get to walk down a lava tube cave for up to a mile and the back. There are a lot of up and down steps at first and when it is busy with people coming back (one way in and the same way back out) this is a bit of a bottleneck. Once you get past this it levels and widens out considerably.
It is cool down there you will need a jacket or a fleece even in summer and you will need some real shoes - flip flops and sandals won't cut it. Above all else you will need flashlights, ideally one each as there is no lighting down in the cave at all. They will rent you a coleman lantern for $5 at the entrance though.

From there you can drive south to and then turn of the highway to get to the Newberrry Caldera and Paulina Lakes. We drove up the unsurfaced road up to Paulina Peak. I highly reccomend you go up there as you get a spectacular view of the whole caldera, both lakes, the newer cone between then and the big obsidian flow. The road is unsurfaced but my chevy impala sedan made it up without any drama. The only annoyance is stretches of the road have a ribbed surface that mKes the ride a bit vibration filled for short stretches. Stick it out the view at the top is amazing. You don't get a feel for the size of the caldera from anywhere but up there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newberry National Volcanic Monument also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Newberry National Volcanic Monument? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing