We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience”

The Loft Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Loft Restaurant & Bar features fine dining on the waterfront in Old Town Bandon.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have been to The Loft three or four times when we travel through Bandon. Each time the food has been excellent. This last visit the restaurant was filled to capacity. Our server was attentive and explained that things were busy in the kitchen. We understand that each dish is prepared fresh to order and it was well worth the wait. I had the butter fish which was delicious with just the right amount of seasoning. My husband had the duck and said it was very tender and was quite satisfied with the portion. We also split a salad and a chocolate mousse both very tasty. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmonkey487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    46
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Three in a Row, I guess”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

It was recommendations we read that we tried The Loft.
We planned an evening of shared food.
Our appetizer was a shrimp tempura plate which we found rather greasy.
Next we tried a bisque that lacked seasoning.
Our main course was a butter fish over dry noodles , raw spinich and carrots.
A portion of the carrots was cold
The fish, while tasty, was undersized---about the size of fast food hamburger patty.
I am not an advocate of eating at places where they pile on ridiculous portions, but $25 for fish that was slapped on ingredients that didn't even have to be cooked was not acceptable.

The hostess/waiter/bartender ws inattentive.
I had to ask for all drink refills. None was offered even though she cast a glance at our table everytime she passed by.
I don't know if she was just not well trained or the overworked owner.

All in all it was a disappointing experience.
We had much better food across the street at the Wheelhouse.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortuna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wrong decision”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were very disappointed with the food. We had read earlier reviews and the place sounded like a very good place. We had made reservations early in the day for 2 of us; we ended up waiting over 1 1/2 hours for our meal to arrive. The quality of the food was really not what we were expecting. I had ordered cioppino. I am not an overly critical patron and am mostly forgiving, but that cioppino was just plain wrong. The menu stated that it had fresh crab included; there was not one piece. The sauce was more like salted, watered down tomato juice with some dryed parsely flakes thrown in. That was it. We paid $25 for it. My husband was also displeased with what he ordered. The restaurant was extremely understaffed this particular night. The waitress had to be the bartender, bus person, hostess and everything in between. This in not a pleasant experience for anyone wanting to enjoy a relaxing dining experience. We work hard for our money. We will not come back to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gotsuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theloftofbandon, Owner at The Loft Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
The owners of The Loft are very disappointed that we were unable to meet these reviewers’ expectations on this occasion. It is always our intention to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience. Since all of our food is made from scratch in house, some items can take a little longer to prepare. During our busiest nights, it can take longer than we would like to prepare and serve each dish, but quality is always at the forefront. For instance, our Cioppino is made from our special homemade stock, which includes organic fennel, organic fresh vegetables, San Marzano Tomatoes, fresh herbs and saffron. It is a delicately flavored broth and is not intended to be thick. We take great pride in the food that we offer, and if our food fails to live up to the expectations of our diners, we welcome the feedback. We will continue to do everything we can to ensure that our guest leave with smiles on their faces. (Note: this is a duplicate response to the review below, as reviewers were a couple).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't listen to all reviews”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Read so many good reviews and wonderful pictures of there food we had to try this on our anniversary. We not only waited an hour and a half for our food to come but for good money in this economy the food was bland and even I can cook way better at home. My wife had the cioppino which had no crab and a water like sauce. I had a $17 hamburger that had a slimy bun and no flavor to the 1/2 lb. of (grass fed beef). So needless to say after 2 hours and $70 we will never go back. We are not complainers normally and do not normally write bad reviews but this sucked.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theloftofbandon, Owner at The Loft Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
The owners of The Loft are very disappointed that we were unable to meet these reviewers’ expectations on this occasion. It is always our intention to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience. Since all of our food is made from scratch in house, some items can take a little longer to prepare. During our busiest nights, it can take longer than we would like to prepare and serve each dish, but quality is always at the forefront. For instance, our Cioppino is made from our special homemade stock, which includes organic fennel, organic fresh vegetables, San Marzano Tomatoes, fresh herbs and saffron. It is a delicately flavored broth and is not intended to be thick. We take great pride in the food that we offer, and if our food fails to live up to the expectations of our diners, we welcome the feedback. We will continue to do everything we can to ensure that our guest leave with smiles on their faces. (Note: this is a duplicate response to the above review, as reviewers were a couple).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A new chef, new menu, close to 5 stars”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is just shy of a 5 star dining establishment. While the atmoshpere was good, an interior table will be less interesting as the views of the docks and sea would be lost. And it is a small place so seating is limited.

Service was very good. Don't be in a rush, this is not speedy service but every dish is prepared with care and the chef trys to use all local organic ingredients.

The manila clams starter was deliciously prepared, the sauce a lovely garlic, wine, and herb-butter flavor, but the clams were small and the portion was a tad skimpy. The salads were very good and just the right size. Nicely presented - not your standard 'out-of-the-bag salad' but a real delicacy of mixed greens, thin pears slices, candied walnuts and thinly sliced cheese (not sure what kind). A perfect salad.

We split the Butterfish entree and it was a generous serving allowing each of us a nice dinner. The fish was served over a bed of fresh spinach with crispy noodles and a sauce that had hints of ginger. An excellent choice, and very well prepared. A new taste and simply delicious.

Without wine the total bill came to $51 for the two of us. I'd go back and do recommend it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Loft Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing