We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful museum where you'd least expect it”

Stafford Air & Space Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum where you'd least expect it”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

There's not a ton to see in Weatherford, OK, so it never occurred to me to look at what was there. I saw the Stafford Air & Space Museum on a list of "Things to Do in Oklahoma" list--and also noted that it had excellent ratings, and is a Smithsonian affiliate. My teenaged son is very interested in aerospace engineering, so we drove the 90 minutes from our home to see it today. Well, it was way better than either of us expected. I have been to very sizable museums before that have a history of aviation section (such as the Henry Ford Museum in Detroit), but this was the best single collection I have seen. No doubt the Smithsonian is better, but they sure pack a lot of interesting stuff into their 1 acre museum. There are early planes, fighter planes, bombs, and a very large section on space flight, which includes a whole Saturn rocket, a replica lunar lander and space capsule from Apollo missions, Mercury mission items, Space Shuttle information, plus information on foreign space programs, especially Soviet/Russian. There's a wealth of information, and the explanations are clear and with sufficient detail. If you happen to by driving down I-40 in western Oklahoma, this is definitely worth a visit. It took us about three hours to go through all of it--and we didn't even stop long at the education center which has about 15 computers with complex flight simulators for people to try. A hidden gem!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordMuseumOK, Public Relations Manager at Stafford Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Thank you for the great review Theresa! We appreciate you taking the time to drive over, and spend the day with your son at our museum! It's so nice to hear that you both enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again! We are continually developing our impressive collection, so there is a very good chance the next time you visit you will see something new! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hominy, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This was a great experience!”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to visit here based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. The museum is very well done, well laid out, very informative and has some unbelievable items in its collection.
This was really worth the side trip and the afternoon out of our schedule.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank catseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordMuseumOK, Public Relations Manager at Stafford Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to visit! We appreciate the review, and are so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Wow!”
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This museum is an absolute must for anyone that has even a passing interest in the history of space exploration in particular or aviation in general. The majority of artifacts are dedicated to the exploits of General Stafford, and most are the actual, "real deal", flown objects. General Stafford was a participant in the Gemini, Apollo, and Apollo-Soyuz Test Project and these achievements are highlighted in the museum in an approachable and informative manner. Other exhibits are replicas but very well done. I recommend at least two hours to tour the site so good walking shoes are in order. The staff is extremely courteous and knowledgeable and the admission fee is very reasonable. I have visited both the National Air and Space Museum in D.C. and the Air Force Museum in Dayton, Ohio and this facility ranks with them. If you ever get anywhere near this place, visit! You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Morton8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordMuseumOK, Public Relations Manager at Stafford Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Thank you for your kind words and review! Ranking us among the likes of the National Air and Space Museum and the Air Force Museum is so greatly appreciated. Thank you for recognizing the importance of the collection we have, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch museum”
Reviewed 24 February 2017

This museum was a pleasant surprise. The displays were extremely well done and very informative. It reminded us of a smaller version of the air and space museums in Washington DC area.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordMuseumOK, Public Relations Manager at Stafford Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you so much for your review Laura! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and appreciate your wonderful remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlow, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We took our daughter to the Stafford Space Museum and enjoyed it very much. This place looks so small when you drive up, but once inside it is HUGE. We got to see some of the original space shuttles and equipment they actually use in space, there is so much history in this Museum it is educational and fun at the same time. Definately will be back.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordMuseumOK, Public Relations Manager at Stafford Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Craig, thank you so much for visiting us! We are happy to hear that your entire family enjoyed the museum! Thank you for the wonderful review, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stafford Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Stafford Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing