We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
We love this park.

Roman Nose is one of our favorite places to camp and hike. It's close to OKC, trails are in pretty... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
sciguy35
,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Interesting place

This was my first time there. They have cabins to rent, a nice lodge to stay in. They have a golf... read more

Reviewed 2 May 2018
V3248RGkarenh
,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
via mobile
Read all 127 reviews
  
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
52
54
8
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
54
8
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boats horseback riding general store hiking trails mini golf fall break dining experience great hiking a lot of fun challenging golf course camping trip lodge restaurant nice lodge inspiration point lakes fishing hike
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There are natural springs, teepees, a beautiful old picnic shelter, trails for hiking, lakes for fishing and paddle boating but not swimming. There is a swimming pool. You can stay in the lodge or cabins, or camp out in the teepees or your own tent or rv. It's a good place for picnics and exploring. It's a good place to get away and relax.

Date of experience: March 2014
2  Thank auntiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I and my two children, ages 9 and 11 were thrilled with our trail riding experience at Roman Nose State Park. We had reservations for a 1 hour trail ride, and began our ride at 9:30 a.m. Our wrangler, Ariana, had the horses saddled and ready to go The horses are beautiful and well behaved. Our ride took us through all kinds of terrain, from rocky cliffs, to wooded, shady areas.
Ariana was patient and answered all my kids questions as we rode, filling them in on the history o of the area, and information about the wildlife that can be seen. If I had one thing to do over, it would be to take the 2 hour ride instead of the 1 hour....we will be back. Soon, a chuckwagon dinner with riding before and after the meal will be available. My kids and I can't wait!

Date of experience: May 2014
5  Thank momtomark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

their website and the travel oklahoma website states that roman nose has a restaurant, gives its hours-mon-sun., even has a menu.we got their around 5.we did not stop to eat on the way in, because we thought the restaurant would be open. i asked, upon check in, what time the restaurant opened for dinner. i was informed that it is not open until thursday! we had to go into the town of watonga to find someplace to eat. while it is a charming small town, we ate at the sonic. there isn't much to choose from we saw an elderly couple, who got their even later than we did, leaving to go into town, after dark. i felt bad for them.
our room was at the very end of a very long hall. the girl at the desk said our room number was 110, but there isn't a number on the door, but says "cool springs suite'. why even mention a number? we were tired, it was a long hall, so we went back and asked for clarifcation, because the numbers start at, like, 115 and went up. it confused us. the girl at the desk, rather rudely, said, " i said it is at the end of the hall, on the right".she finally got up and showed us, because there weren't very many guests.
we had to go find a place to eat breakfast, the next morning. that evening, we went to watonga and got some frozen dinners. there is no microwave, in the room, so we used the one in the dining room, in the breakfast area. it was filthy, but we had to use it. we ate in the dining room. there was a girl, dressed like a chef. i told her we were going to use the microwave, because the restaurant wasn't open. she said," well, we were told there would be 12-15 of you for dinner, and now we were told there are only 4". i told her we weren't with a group, just guests. she said " oh" and walked off.
we got the cool springs suite because it was supposed to have a view of the lake.didn't too many trees.the room itself is nice .the bed was comfy. it was quiet.
i guess the lake and golf course qualify it as a resort, as the sign says. if you go looking for a resort, it is not that. the signage is confusing. we couldn't find the ccc built structure, the public pool was under construction. the lodge has a seperate pool.
i would skip this place.

Date of experience: April 2014
9  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went out for a little hike this past weekend. We stopped first at the park office, which is beautiful and staffed with extremely helpful people who seem to really enjoy their work. We picked up some trails maps, got some advice, and headed out.

The first thing I will say is DO NOT leave the map behind. We made that mistake and immediately regretted it. There are no signs marking the different trails so it was all a guessing game. We ended up on some trails that were much more advanced than our group was prepared for and also took a few hours longer than we'd place.

The scenery was gorgeous but be careful. There ARE rattlesnakes out there, as we unfortunately witnessed first hand. We'd come over a small hill and around a turn to spot what had to have been at least a 4' rattlesnake on the trail ahead of us. We backed up and let it crawl across the path but I was a nervous wreck the rest of the way down.

Inspiration point is a must see. The views are gorgeous and it's worth the trip up. The mountain biking, at least in the area we were (Two Lakes Trail) is very advanced. Not a good place for a novice rider as there are a lot of steep grades, rock gardens, and narrow, winding paths. All in all we really enjoyed the day. We will likely venture back at some point, but we'll be better prepared.

Date of experience: April 2014
12  Thank NannerInOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Roman Nose State Park has a great lodge, cabins, lake, restaurants and well just an all round great place to fish, paddle boat, horse ride and swim. Great place for a family reunion or just your family.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank whippetlady_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews