We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christmas Train at Dry Gulch
Save
Review Highlights
Reason for the Season

If you have not been to Dry Gulch USA, you owe it to yourself to get tickets this year and attend... read more

Reviewed 27 September 2016
pamault
via mobile
A Wonderful experience.

I had tried to get tickets for 3 years in a row and finally made it. We loved the entire experience... read more

Reviewed 13 June 2015
vickimig
,
Idabel, Oklahoma
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
34
11
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
11
7
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Let me first say, that after reading some of the negative reviews i was nervous driving all that way to be let down or have my children scared. After visiting, I realized they are either exaggerating or were never really there.
I am not a religious person and was looking for a fun, affordable Christmas activity that both my toddler and baby would enjoy . A train too? Even better.
First, tickets are hard to come by so if you get them, Congratulations! We arrived shortly after 6:00. The parking lot was almost packed, but we walked in no problem and headed for the train. We waited approx 30 minutes, but it seemed faster than that because the line moves fast and you get to see the trains come and go. When we went by the train around 8:45pm (and later) there was barely a line (maybe 5-10 min), but telling a toddler we would wait until later was not an option. The train ride was really nice. Some people complained it was scary for little kids in these reviews, which made me nervous going in. Not sure what they were complaining about. There were large pictures detailing the beginning of the world to Jesus's birth and resurrection that were outside that you passed during the ride. My boy kept saying wow! There were 2 live scenes one with statues of the crucifixion and actors playing Roman soldiers pointing at him. My boy did ask what those men were doing and I told them they were being mean. My boy yelled at them and then looked for the next picture or building to look at. The other live scene was of people rejoicing because they learned Jesus rose. The pictures were really nothing bad. The live depictions were no different than what you see in pictures or statues at a church (just on a larger scale) and you can see ahead of time coming around the corner. If you wanted, you could just turn you head or distract your child. From a person who is not religious, I was not offended and did not feel my children were traumatized. The people who reviewed anything different are being dramatic.
The train station and train was immaculate and the people very friendly. The conductor even asked my son if he wanted a picture with him in front of the train. Oh, and the reviewer that said they had to break out of a room with a blocked entrance and hop the fence? Curious what they are talking about, since we just walked right off the train back outside.
We then went to the playground and a few trips to the carousel and the pony ride (the only activity that cost us extra $ at $3). With a baby and toddler we then decided to go inside for a bit. Food prices were reasonable. I even brought in food for my toddler and was not a problem. In fact, I am guessing you could bring your own drinks and snacks in if you wanted to save money.
We then went to the puppet show which was short but really cute. We never made it on the wagon ride, even though we had time for it. Kids were tired so we grabbed a snack on the way out. It was a beautiful property and a great Christmas activity, especially when you don't live in a city and have access to numerous things.
I am hoping to be lucky enough to get tickets again next year!

1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

First off - my 2 star rating is based completely on our 2014 experience. We've attended for the last 3 years. Has always been a really neat Christian Christmas experience - great for families and kids. If you've never been and have young kids, definitely do this ONCE!
The first year we went deserved 5-stars. Second year 3-stars.
This year was our worst experience. Seems like they are issuing more tickets than they have in the past...lines and wait times were much longer. They give preference to their own groups/families/churches/friends or something. You should expect to wait in line - while their "preferred guests" get escorted directly to the front. Is only open 4-hours a night which is not enough time to take everything in....unless of course you are a 1st class guest.
The food is good - on par with the prices. Restrooms are clean. Most of the staff/volunteers are super nice, very friendly and helpful. Tickets are very hard to get. Best option is to be online the moment they go on sale.
Personally, I don't like having my family subjected to second rate service so they can play favorites with their friends - our money and time is just as valuable as anyone else's. We will not be back.

2  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

This is a fun adventure for a Saturday night only if you can arrive around 5:45. There is a lot to do but to get your money & drive worth....arrive early. Went 3 years ago and it was open later than it is now. Arrived at 6:20, met up with friends at the entrance. Enjoyed the free wagon ride telling the Night Before Christmas. Then got in line for the train...waited right at 30 minutes as stated, rode the train which was a decent experience & 15 minutes...a little scary for little kids. Grabbed a bite to each which was tasty and affordable. Everyone used the restrooms then off at 9:00 to do a few more things....but they said "we are not selling tickets right now"...huh...right now. OK, went to find a hot chocolate and let the kids play on the playground. Went back at 9:20 to get tickets and they said they were sold out for the night. Park closed at 10...10?? Last time it was open until 11. So my promise to eat good and be rewarded with bumper cars went out the window. The kids rode the carousel one more time and we drove home. So to sum it up...drove in Friday traffic 1 hr 35 minutes, did essentially 2 big events, ate and drove 1 hr 35 minutes home (jenks). Not worth it. Deeply disappointed that they closed at 10:00. Granted if I had not been stuck in traffic and gotten there right at 6:00 it might have been different but buy a few tickets/tokens before you do anything else! DEEPLY disappointed. Will NOT be back.

If you are not going to sell tickets after 9:00 then vacate the booth and roll down the curtain & turn off the lights. Don't let people think the kids can still do things. Some 6-9 year olds can have quite a stamina to do everything then sleep on the car ride home!

1  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

This is our family Christmas tradition and it is the 4th year we were able to go. As corny as it sounds it truly is a magical experience. The sight of the old western town all decked out in white lights for Christmas is beautiful! The highlight is definitely the ride on the Christmas Train where the story of Christ us told from the beginning to the resurrection. It is illustrated with beautiful artwork as well as with live scenes. It is very moving and reminds you of the true meaning of Christmas. There is a free wagon ride with a reading of 'The Night Before Christmas' as well as a fee puppet show. This year they had a new pie shop which was super cute. The prices for the extras, bumper cars, rope course, etcetera are very reasonable. If you are lucky enough to be able to go (getting tickets isn't always easy) be sure to give yourself plenty of time to visit the shops, grab a bite eat, ride some rides and just walk around taking in the sights. We get there as early as possible and stay until they close!

1  Thank Girlwholovestoread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Love this place. It's family oriented and yes, there's a Christmas message but I never felt I was being "scared straight" and it's nothing remotely akin to a revival. The train ride takes you through the birth and death of Jesus Christ, the true meaning of Christmas to Christians around the world but this is just a small part of the experience. There are wonderful shops to visit, and lots of things for kids young and old to do. The place is manned by volunteers who are very kind and talented. It's like walking back into time and the whole experience is wonderful. I've gone several times and love it more each time and cannot understand anyone who would enjoy themselves here.

6  Thank AksmithOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews