We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical as Always!!!”

Christmas Train at Dry Gulch
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Pryor
Attraction details
Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

This is our family Christmas tradition and it is the 4th year we were able to go. As corny as it sounds it truly is a magical experience. The sight of the old western town all decked out in white lights for Christmas is beautiful! The highlight is definitely the ride on the Christmas Train where the story of Christ us told from the beginning to the resurrection. It is illustrated with beautiful artwork as well as with live scenes. It is very moving and reminds you of the true meaning of Christmas. There is a free wagon ride with a reading of 'The Night Before Christmas' as well as a fee puppet show. This year they had a new pie shop which was super cute. The prices for the extras, bumper cars, rope course, etcetera are very reasonable. If you are lucky enough to be able to go (getting tickets isn't always easy) be sure to give yourself plenty of time to visit the shops, grab a bite eat, ride some rides and just walk around taking in the sights. We get there as early as possible and stay until they close!

1  Thank Girlwholovestoread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

13 - 17 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2014

Love this place. It's family oriented and yes, there's a Christmas message but I never felt I was being "scared straight" and it's nothing remotely akin to a revival. The train ride takes you through the birth and death of Jesus Christ, the true meaning of Christmas to Christians around the world but this is just a small part of the experience. There are wonderful shops to visit, and lots of things for kids young and old to do. The place is manned by volunteers who are very kind and talented. It's like walking back into time and the whole experience is wonderful. I've gone several times and love it more each time and cannot understand anyone who would enjoy themselves here.

Date of experience: November 2013
6  Thank AksmithOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great for all people, no matter what you believe...it has a simple message & reminds us all of the real meaning of Christmas... So enjoyable!

Date of experience: December 2013
5  Thank H2OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had looked forward to this family outing, but when we arrived, it became clear fairly quickly that this was a "scared straight" short train ride to high priced gift shops and gooey sweets, then to a closed room to be prostelitized. We feigned a medical emergency and rushed the blocked door to leave, and then had to jump over a fence ( with my 85 year old dad) to escape to the parking lot. And we paid for this miserable experience!!?! Maybe if you are a wild eyed evangelical, you could appreciate the fire and brimstone, but for an Episcopalean family out to celebrate Christmas with a new adventure, it was horrible.

Date of experience: December 2012
29  Thank TeresaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My boyfriend and I have made this our Christmas tradition, we love going to Dry Gulch on a cool night, ride the train , walk around grab a bite to eat and SHOP :) at the end of the evening we love sitting by the fire pit This is perfect for families or just a couple for an evening out. The wait at the restaurant is average 30 minutes but so worth it.Friendly people,wonderful food ...we always discover something new.
All in all this us the trip that always puts me in the Christmas spirit :)

Date of experience: December 2012
6  Thank Shortpantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christmas Train at Dry Gulch also viewed

 

Been to Christmas Train at Dry Gulch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing