We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Desk Clerk” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governors Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governors Suites Hotel
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Desk Clerk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

I have stayed here a few times. Tonight was the worst experience ever at this hotel. Ask for a pen to write a message down and the pen didnt work. I was told, if I use it hard enough it will work. Tried several times on a piece of paper and it clearly didnt work. I ask for another pen and the clerk slammed another pen down. I needed another piece of paper and the clerk said, "What, you cant use the same piece of paper?" Very unprofessional. Really, I couldnt believe I was being treated this way. Ask for her name and she told me I didnt need to know that. Then, I ask for her managers
name, I was told it wasnt for me to know. I guess she was having a bad night at 1:30 in the morning on 1/15/2011. For some reason she stated she didnt have to let me in after 10:30 at night. Dont know why that statement was made. I use to recommend this hotel to my friends, but now I think I wont be doing that at all. Looking else where. Other nights were just ok and no problems.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highonyourmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinn24913, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
You have every right to be upset with the treatment you received on you stay in January 2011. That is definately not the way that we train our desk clerks to treat our guests. Service is very important to all of not only the management staff, but also for the deesk clerks & housekeepers, Since your stay we have almost a complete turn over in staff and provoded them with more training. We have also installed a visual security system, which is monitered routinely to check for any of thebehavior you are told us about and then making sure that it is delt with whether with further training or terminating employment. we would greatly appreciate another chance to show you the changes we have made in many areas of our property, Please consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    42
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
34
34
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

I have been traveling for 30 plus years professionally and I can say this is the worst hotel ever. Free breakfast makes Mc Donalds look like fine dining. The desk service is aweful. Manager...what manger? Never saw him in the entire week stay. Room was dirty and a/c was broke entire stay. The Clarion is a much better hotel and value in OKC!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govsuites, Front Office Manager at Governors Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
In response to several comments here and on our comment cards numerous changes have been made to this establishment since 2009. Breakfast has been updated to include: eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, bagels, cereal, toast, a special daily item as well as several drinks and condiments. Housekeeping now has a new accountability system and the rooms are thus staying much cleaner. All of the AC units have been inspected, repaired and or replaced. There is a completely new staff at the front desk including myself who also have a new accountability system and are more throughly trained in customer service. Finally, we have a new computerized system to keep track of comments that is viewed daily to improve our hotel in any way possible. We appreciate your reviews and strive to make a better stay for all those who choose Governors Suites Hotel OKC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

I was told that the Governor's Suites Hotel used to be an Embassy Suites (which is now located across the street a few hundred yards away). I can understand why the abandoned this property.
The rooms are dark and stale. They only have one window, which is a double French door type, but they do not open so there is no way to get fresh air into the room. The rooms are spacious and include a microwave and refrigerator, but not utensils or flatware. Maid service was fine.
The atrium is lit by many skylights and is pleasant, probably the hotels best asset. There is a minimal workout room that also doubles as a laundry room, an outdoor pool, and a sauna and jacuzzi.
A complete breakfast is included in the stay, but I have had better continental breakfasts elsewhere. It includes buffet style scrambled eggs, microwaved bacon and sausage patties, a waffle maker, etc.
The staff was fine but not very friendly, which added to the general depressing feeling of the hotel.
I stayed here on a government rate of $73 a night, which included a rental car, but there are several other hotels that have similar deals, and they have to be better than this.
The only other nice thing I can say about the hotel is that is had a good location. It is the closest hotel to Will Rogers airport and a short drive to both I-40 and I-44, and had several quality options for dining within walking distance incluing Zio's and Charleston's, but there are also several other hotels close by also.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet
  • Disliked — Depressing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govsuites, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
First this location was never an Embassy Suite. Many of our amenities were mentioned and we ask you check them out and decided for your self...Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oklahoma City Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#31 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Oklahoma City Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Oklahoma City...
#53 of 147 in Oklahoma City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma Ci...
#19 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City ...
#16 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Oklahoma City Airport
Hyatt Place Oklahoma City Airpor...
#12 of 147 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Oklahoma City Airport North
Ramada Oklahoma City Airport Nor...
#60 of 147 in Oklahoma City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Suites Hotel

Property: Governors Suites Hotel
Address: 2308 S Meridian Ave, 2308 S Meridian Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108-1728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,830 - ₹ 7,402
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Governors Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing