We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in midtown. Nice variety of latin offerings”

1492 New World Latin Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
1492 New World Latin Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 1,711 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I like the specials and the standard tex-mex fair. The prices are a little high, but I think the location, cleanliness of the restaurant and well trained staff make up for the price difference. If you enjoy mole, this is a great choice. Service is always prompt. They have great bar drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

A friend and I had dinner here, and we had a mix up on our reservation and seating. That was cleared up, but then we were put by a noisy doorway. But that's not the heart of my review. We found standard items like Tacos al carbon to be pretty high, so we split an order of Fajitas. I thought them to be very ordinary - very little green pepper and onion, nothing special about them at all really. I think the Fajitas at standard-much-cheaper local Tex-Mex restaurants are better. So, had high expectations, but was disappointed.

Thank Lindy1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 1492. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. We strive to provide the highest quality experience from the standard dishes that you would find at a Tex-Mex restaurant to a fine dining Venezuelan restaurant. I'm sorry about the fajitas not meeting your standards but your comments will help us determine how we can improve. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Very happy with our dinner here. The food was creative and more than the standard Mexican fare. I had a delicious dish with mashed plantains and shrimp and was blown away by the complex flavors of the dish. Sad we don't live nearby, or we'd be frequent visitors!

1  Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We ate at the Cassady Square location for the first time today. We had the best server who gave us tons of suggestions and even brought me a sample of their frozen mojito. They were so good, I'd go back for those alone. Our food was delicious and prepared perfectly. Atmosphere was really nice. The menu had lots of variety. I'm just disappointed I didn't save room for dessert. I've found my new favorite place!

1  Thank Keely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2016

Thank you, Keely, for your feedback and sharing your experience at 1492! We'll have a frozen mojito waiting for you! Thanks again and we can't wait for the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were so excited to be invited to dinner at 1492. Once again, everyone at the table enjoyed every dish. The tilapia was great. The pollo con hongos was a perfect combination of poblano peppers, mushrooms and onions. We'll definitely be back!

1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2016

Thank you, Michael, for taking the time to write your review! We are so happy to have a repeat guest be wowed by another experience at 1492. Your review will be shared with the staff and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you again for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1492 New World Latin Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to 1492 New World Latin Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing