We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tortillas”

Ted's Cafe Escondido
Ranked #7 of 361 Restaurants in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Tortillas are the best thing about Ted’s. It is actually worth it to just get the chips, tortillas, queso, and salsa.

Thank TeganS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thanks for coming to see us! We're happy you enjoy the complimentary setup and homemade tortillas so much, but we hope to welcome you back again soon to find an entree you love just as much. Looking forward to seeing you again soon for an even better experience! -Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Great food! Excellent service!! Awesome ambience!!!
I highly recommend it to tex-mex lovers and also first timers

Thank alpanag2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for coming in for a meal! We're happy you enjoyed everything and look forward to hearing what we can do to earn that last star on your next visit.

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Great food, outstanding service and were very accommodating of our large group size. The size of our group in no way affected the time it took in getting our meal in a timely manner.

Thank 537gailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much! We often get large groups and are glad to accommodate them. The more the merrier! We're happy to hear you and your group enjoyed our made from scratch food and that our team took great care of you. Looking forward to the next time you all come our way!

Until then,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

I attended a business dinner here and the food was amazing. There were four of us in attendance and we didn’t have much room at our table as they are pretty small , the staff was on top of their service and I felt they were all concerned with assuring we had a great experience

Thank Tracee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We're happy you enjoyed your business dinner. It was great having you all, and while it's great to hear you were a fan of the food, we wish you were more impressed overall. If you ever have an issue with where you're seated, please never hesitate to let us know. Hope to welcome you back again soon for an even better experience!

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

An Incredibly delicious chicken tamale with cheese sauce, a cheese enchilada with cream sauce, a beef enchilada with chili sauce, and a crispy chicken taco with lettuce, tomatoes, guacamole on the side, rice and beans was my order of the Escondido Especiale. My mouth waters thinking of it even now.
Each portion of our orders was large, fresh and cooked perfectly. My chicken taco was nearly the size of two tacos at a fast food place. I could have ordered just it. In fact I took the two enchiladas home. The tamale was perfect like homemade.
The waitstaff kept our tea and soda glasses filled.
Four of us ate here on a Friday night at 6:30. We were seated within 10 mins. If we had arrived at 7:00, we would have had a 20 minute wait. All the food was fresh and delicious. The light crispy chips, cheese sauce, and mild salsa were no charge. Two adult men and one teen boy had plenty to eat with their orders. My order was the Escondido Especiale and I had to take 1/2 of it home because there was so much.
I definitely will go back.

Thank Lynnda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

So glad you enjoyed your meal! It's great to hear you were a fan of everything you tried from the chicken tamale to the enchiladas. Customer service is very important to us, so we love hearing that our team took good care of you and you were in and out with more chips and queso than you could have ever wanted. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ted's Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing