We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Riverwind Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverwind Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were mailed coupons for a free night at the hotel, and took advantage of the offer last week.

Our room was huge, and beautifully appointed. The bed was covered with pillows and the mattress was comfortable. I estimate the wall-mounted HD flat screen tv was around 40 inches.

I suspect the hotel uses cable tv instead of satellite, judging by the poor selection of channels available. We wanted to watch the OKC Thunder game, but sports channels were in short supply on the channel guide. You would think the local team games would be available, but we were told we could go into the casino and watch the game on the tv's there. Instead, we watched it on the laptop.

The wireless internet signal is strong and we had no problems connecting or staying connected.

Someone had stolen the batteries from the tv remote, but the front desk quickly took care of the problem. And speaking of the folks at the front desk - they were some of the most cheerful and helpful people we have seen in quite a while. They are true professionals.

The bathroom included granite counters, mirrored closet doors, a closet with ironing board and iron, and a room safe, a king size double shower, and a giant soaking tub. The towels were large, fluffy and fresh. This was one of the nicest bathrooms I have seen in a hotel.

On the surface, our room was very clean, but after looking at the baseboards, behind the night stands and at the lamp shades, it was obvious it was time to give them some extra attention.

We did not notice any noise from slamming doors or other hotel guests. One whole wall of the room is made up of windows, and we did notice some parking lot noise. If this will be a problem for you, be sure to request a room on one of the upper floors.

The hotel provides freshly baked cookies and a coffee/juice bar in the lobby 24 hours a day. A free breakfast is not provided, but you are given a coupon for half price breakfast inside the casino at the Willows buffet.

Room Tip: If you are reserving a "free room," be sure to do so plenty of time in advance of your des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ranchmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 409 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Had ANOTHER great stay at this Hotel. Brian Manager on duty was extremely courteous and accomadating. From the time we got there to check in the the whole staff was very pleasant. Great place to stay if you are going to see a concert or just to gamble!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 233Lisa_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Two friends and I attended a concert at Riverwind and got a hotel room for the night. Bryan Davis and the Riverwind Hotel staff truly understand hospitality. It was a great experience and I will definitely go back in the future. After posting pictures on Facebook from the hotel, I had a friend respond saying that she had a great time on NYE at Riverwind Hotel. Thanks again for a great Saturday night outing!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The wife and I stayed two nights in December. This was my second stay at Riverwind Hotel. I continue to be impressed by the quality of this hotel. The place is virtually spotless and smells clean. All the staff I spoke with were friendly and helpful. We always received a smile and a greeting whenever meeting staff; everyone from the frontdesk to maintenance and housekeeping. The bed was very comfortable. The linens had the slightest smell of bleach; however this didn't bother me. Bleach is good. At least I know they had been cleaned in an appropriate manner. Please be aware that check-in begins at 4:00 p.m. and not a minute earlier. We will be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention your players card when making a reservation. We received a discount price on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLSTCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed here in October and was very impressed. The staff even asked how everything was including staff in hallways. We returned in December and wow what a drastic change for the worse! They had sprayed something throughout the hotel smelled like a strong cinnamon smell about choked us. All night commotion in hallways and parking lot so we got very little sleep. Then we had to stuff a towel around the window heating unit to keep freezing outside air from getting in our room. To top it off the maid that cleaned the room forgot to turn off the previous people's alarm so we were awake bright and early at 7 am on our vacation which we could have slept in! Upon checking out not even the lady checking us out asked how was your stay, was everything okay? I would have gladly told her everything if she had asked. Needless to say, we won't be returning here. Very disappointed considering we paid $160.00 tax and all for this room!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medgirl4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Norman
8.7 km away
Best Western Plus Norman
7.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
5.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
4.8 km away
Days Inn Norman
Days Inn Norman
#16 of 24 in Norman
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwind Hotel

Address: 2901 Bankers Ave., Directly behind Riverwind Casino, Norman, OK 73072
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Price Range: ₹ 6,421 - ₹ 12,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing