We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Review Highlights
Opened my Eyes to US History

Lots of wonderful artifacts, and explanations of the Five Civilized Tribes (civilized = having... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2018
Jennifer2838
,
Kayes, MALI, West Africa
via mobile
Very interesting

Enjoyed the museum. Too bad it wasn't bigger but is housed in a historical building. Enjoyed all... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2018
Mo S
,
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Read all 88 reviews
  
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
32
32
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
32
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor gift shop historical building honor heights worth a visit native american artists nice display staff was friendly and helpful on display step back in time well taken care small place information provided lots of history cherokee artwork upstairs
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The museum itself is small but the amount of items and the story is something to note if you're visiting. Spent 45 minutes in the museum and it was just enough time. The attendants were extremely helpful.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank niki2674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This museum is a must see for the area. The building itself is historic. Spend some time outside and then venture indoors. From wood carving to paintings, there is a nice variety of art to enjoy. The gift shop offers many items made by local Cherokee artisans as well.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank texastraveler122009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I saw the museum while trying to find a parking spot at the VA. (If you've been there, then you know what I mean.) After my appointment I decided to stop by. I can't remember the amount of donation that was asked for but it wasn't much. The museum itself is the old Bureau of Indian Affairs building. Constructed shortly after Noah and the Great Flood. Historic architecture and very impressive in its own right.
When I visited, there was an exhibit upstairs that told the story of an invisible stone walkway a young maiden used to lead her slave friends to freedom on. A kind of "Underground Railroad" type exhibit. Very interesting. It depicted interactions between slaves and Natives before the Trail of Tears. The website for the museum will inform you which exhibits are scheduled for your visit.
Of course there is a treasure trove of artifacts and artwork in the regular collection too.
I highly recommend this stop if you are visiting Muskogee, OK or if you're at the VA next door. You'll be glad you did.

Date of experience: March 2016
3  Thank billyhuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Great staff and gifts. Staff was great at explaining many details, very friendly. Exhibit are informative. Building is very historical, first place built in area where all the clans came to register after walking all the way from the east.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the exhibits covering all 5 tribes forced into Oklahoma during the Trail of tears, and learned a few things we didn't know. The building itself is historic. Bought some cool Native American made earrings at the gift shop. Since we're visiting in December we also went to the free xmas lights show in the park next door. That was wonderful too

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank lcatherines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews