We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Zanesville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Keep traveling”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Ramada several years ago, so when our trip this time took us through Zanesville, my husband booked us ( and paid) for a room on line. The hotel is in disrepair, the lawn has not been mowed, there are weeds growing around the building, the security locks to enter the building were non functional, the room was dirty...although we prepaid for the room, we moved down the road to Hampton Inn. We did not feel it was safe to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We're very sorry that you had such a terrible experience at your recent stay. We have just taken over from prior management and were still in the process of sorting out the card readers. Please stop back whenever you are passing by and ask for me (gm), so we can try to make up for your unpleasant experience. The issues you had have addressed from the checkin system to the landscaping. Once again i apologize for the disarray and hope you will stop back by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    15
    14
    35
See reviews for
28
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family stayed here on the way back from Washington DC and had a great time. The oversize indoor pool along with the game areas kept our kids busy. This place is under new ownership and management. Everyone from the houskeepers to maintenenance to the front desk were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The rooms were big and clean. When we checked in the front clerk told us that if anything was wrong they would be happy to switch us to another room. There was no need as our room was fine. The breakfast was better than most places and the restaurant was scheduled to open in the future after renovations. I read the past reviews and all I can say is give the new management a chance. The price was good and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachin S, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We're very pleased that your stay was fantastic and thank you for your positive review. As you mentioned in your review, we have just taken over and are working very hard to renovate and change this property. Please don't be afraid of the prior reviews as we have completed drastic changes to the hotel to ensure cleanliness and safety. Thank you again, and hope you come back and choose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Only stay here if you want to freeze to death, sleep on stained sheets and cover with threadbare blankets and comforters with cigarette burns in them! (We stayed in a non-smoking room).

It took 30 minutes to check in, despite having made reservations (and paid already!) online prior.. The women up front were unprofessional, and unapologetic about it.

When we finally got the room keys, we took our 3 young children in and noticed that it was extremely cold inside. The thermostat was OFF! Had to almost break it to get it to turn on. We thought, well, we'll turn this on and go swim and maybe get in the jacuzzi to warm up. HA! What a joke. The entire swimming area was unheated. Colder than outside! The water was warm, but it didn't really matter when the air was freezing. Thought the jacuzzi would warm us up, however the water in the jacuzzi was only slightly warmer the pool water. Had interesting conversations with other people about how unnaturally cold it was inside.

(This was pretty much the whole reason we booked the room, to let the kids swim for a while since there is nothing to do outside, since it's so cold out. So needless to say, they were dissapointed and miserable.)

We raced back to our room, dripping wet and freezing. Still not warm in our room. Decided to take hot showers. Bathroom horrifying!! Looked like urine dribbles on the walls. Ceiling was dirty and ceiling tiles were off center and gaping. Very seedy. The whole room smelled like stale urine.

No microwave, even though its listed under the amenities. Had a refridgerator, although it did not work. Not even batteries in the remote! Picture on the tiny TV very fuzzy. Dirty floors. Dirty walls.

Let the kids play in the little game area for a while. Was cold. Put money in the air hockey table. It didn't work. A housekeeper came up and started talking to us. For a long time. Pretty much told us all she had done that day was pick up dirty towels, and then left them in a bag. Figured out what was probably the reason our room was so unkempt.

Hard to sleep. Everyone woke up coughing and with runny noses. No surprise, since we pretty much slept in 30 degree weather.

Overall a VERY MISERABLE experience.

We didn't attempt to go swimming again. Left as early as we could get everyone up and ready. What a great family outing, huh?

Then, the topping on the cake: We're back at our very comfortable, very nice, very warm home, unpacking our overnight bag. My daughter screams, jumps back, throws the shirt she had in her hand and yells "Mommy, a bug!!" Look down. Oh how nice. A lovely cockroach, burrowing into our carpet.

So, to sum it all up: We spent $70, for a room I wouldn't have even paid $10 for if I had seen it, and felt it, and smelled it beforehand. We got to swim in a pool when we could have had the same experience for free, swimming in the lake we have here at home. We got to watch a TV similar to the one my husband and I had in our tiny apartment after highschool. But at least then we had a remote control that worked. We got colds and coughs. And we also probably got cockroaches.

Pretty much the worst hotel experience ever.

So yeah, book elsewhere. There are like 3 other hotels right up the road. They probably have heat, at least.

Room Tip: A good room would be one that is not in the Ramada Inn. Or if you must sleep here, you may want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madi J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zanesville hotels

Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Found using Hotels.com which charged us $75 for a $60 room. Clerk at front desk was entertaining "visitors" in the reception area and they seemed to have been partying. The security doors to the guest rooms were propped open when we got there and were never locked. Cigarette ashes on the nightstand (non smoking room.) Floors, bedspread, curtains were grimy and definitely not barefoot friendly.

Never, ever again Hotels.com. For the rest of the trip we used TripAdvisor and - while not all the hotels were great - at least we had an honest picture of what we were getting into!

Room Tip: Go to one of the hotels next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akHondaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here while passing thru the area late one nite. A week-end festival left many other places nearer the highway full. We were thankful to find a clean, comfortable room. The hotel looks dated, but the accomodations (comfort of the bed, cleanliness, everything working) were better than the decor. Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly service and several breakfast items were provided. If you are more concerned about the night's rest than prestige, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanda s, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you v. much for positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zanesville
0.6 km away
Best Western B. R. Guest
Best Western B. R. Guest
#3 of 13 in Zanesville
349 reviews
8.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
#8 of 13 in Zanesville
126 reviews
8.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Zanesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Zanesville
91 reviews
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn Zanesville
Hampton Inn Zanesville
#1 of 13 in Zanesville
313 reviews
7.2 km away
Baker's Motel
Baker's Motel
#1 of 1 in Norwich
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kautilya Zanesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Property: Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Address: 4645 East Pike, I-70 at Exit 160, Zanesville, OH 43701-9536 (Formerly Motel 6 Zanesville)
Region: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,447 - ₹ 7,737
Hotel Class:2 star — Kautilya Zanesville Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kautilya Zanesville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Zanesville
Ramada Zanesville
Zanesville Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing