We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
298
14
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
298
14
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjayne and allansconescollege of woostergranolabed and breakfastlewis roomparfaithospitality roomdelicious breakfastfront porchprivate bathwood floorswonderful hostsb and bmy daughterthe ohio light operanext morning
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My wife and I booked a one night stay at this B & B. Upon arrival we were impressed by the manicured grounds and the outside neatness of the property. As we entered the large home we were more impressed with the restored condition of this magnificent home. The wood floors were shiny and clean. They looked as if they had been recently installed, although the age and beauty of these floors were obvious. All of the rooms were meticulously adorned with period furniture and time appropriate features.

Our private room was large, as was our bathroom. We had a comfortable sleigh bed and nice amenities too. We loved the fluffy thick bathroom towels. In all, the entire home was maintained in an immaculate condition.

The owners and operators, Jayne and Allan, were the perfect hosts for our visit. They jointly worked very hard to make sure that all of the guests received top flight accommodations and excellent food during their stay. Needless to say that the breakfast was served in the formal dining room in a first class manner. Creative plates of food were arranged and served by Jayne, including fruits, eggs, scones, etc.

I would strongly recommend this B & B to anyone wanting a first class experience at a B & B. This facility is within walking distance of the downtown area and is also close to Wooster College.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The Market Inn is a Victorian house, re-plumbed and re-wired, and much worked on by previous
rescuers, all dark paneling and wood floors, with large windows, many porches, wooden gingerbread hither and thither on the outside, and even a turret that ends in a red hat. We stayed there in 2016 while attending several performances at Ohio Light Opera; loved it (and reviewed it); and were delighted to return. This is definitely the nicest place we have stayed in Wooster, where we have been coming on and off for the opera since 1986. Jayne and Allan make running an elegant B&B look easy. They provide wonderfully comfortable beds, luxury-grade towels, even bathrobes (some bathrooms, though reserved for a specific room, necessitate a trip down the hall). WiFi works fine. An elegantly cooked multi-part breakfast varies from day to day and is announced in advance. (Saturday: delicious baked plum with yogurt, chocolate chip scone; ham “cup” with an egg baked in it plus English muffin; Sunday: granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit; pancakes and sausage; unlimited coffee or tea and juice). They are very accommodating about meeting specific requests—e.g., one of us asked to be supplied with yogurt, and fruit so she could bring her own nut-seed breakfast mix. Note that guests sit at a couple of common tables at a pre-announced time (though we understand that early departures are accommodated).
Each bedroom is unique and has its own name (pictures available on the website). Last year the three of us squeezed into “Lincoln.” When we booked it again, Jayne very kindly telephoned us to ask if we would not prefer “Foss,” a small suite with a separate entrance that has a large bedroom with a double bed, a small sitting/TV room with a single bed, a private ensuite bath, and a separate space for a Keurig on a built-in table that could accommodate our computer (to use free Wi-fi).
Patrons younger than we are could walk to the theatre from this location, but we drive, especially as the College of Wooster theatre is a long way uphill. There is free parking in summer on both sides of the Freedlander Theatre and on various side streets if necessary. We like to go early and stroll around the campus, since the College of Wooster has magnificent and varied trees. Visiting Wooster for almost any reason, this is the place to stay. We have stayed at quite a lot of B&Bs over the last thirty years (mostly in Canada and the UK), and we have never encountered one we liked better.

Room Tip: The Foss suite has a private entrance, ensuite bathroom, and comfortable accommodation for three adults.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JervDelTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Highly recommend the Market Street Inn! Wonderful period house - amazing interior details. Immaculate condition, very comfortable, and incredibly gracious and generous hosts! Also perfectly situated walking distance to town and College of Wooster.

Room Tip: NOTE: Private bath but NOT attached to the room -- it was down the hall.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 0-_a_s_c_-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

For the past five years, we have been "rendezvousing" with two other couples at the Market Street Inn while taking in a show at the Ohio Light Opera. We always have a great time and staying at the Inn contributes considerably to our enjoyment. Jayne and Allan are gracious and welcoming hosts, the house and rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfasts are excellent. If you are in the Wooster area, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

My fiancé and I stayed at the Market Street Inn due to unforeseen housing issues associated with a summer fellowship at the College of Wooster. However, I am so glad that things worked out this way and that I stumbled upon this Bed and Breakfast. Jayne and Allen (the owners) go above and beyond to make their guests feel as welcome as possible. We were greeted on the porch by the owner as soon as we arrived and the hospitality continued from that moment on!
It was a gorgeous home that sits within walking distance from the downtown Wooster area. It's roughly a mile away from the College as well. The best part about the B&B, however, is the breakfast! Jayne is a phenomenal cook who can make the most mouthwatering creations. Our breakfast was a raspberry and white chocolate scone along with homemade granola & yogurt, followed by some type of cinnamon waffles with baked apples! It was to die for!! The breakfast alone is reason enough to stay. So, BOOK NOW!! :-)

Room Tip: The Lincoln room had a small balcony on the second floor, which was quite nice! It also has a private bathroom down the hall.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews