We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, welcoming and excellent host”
other travellers have booked this property
Chestnut Barns Sunny Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chestnut Barns Sunny Patio
Front of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Chestnut Barns Sunny Patio
Front of property
Living Room
Living Room - sofa bed
Kitchen/Diner
Shower room
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
abzster
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming and excellent host”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the barn, it's a perfect size for two and Helen is an excellent host.

Communication was great before we arrived, Helen answered all my queries and went out of her way to make our stay perfect. With walking books left on the side and tips to book ahead with the pub as it gets busy.

The barn itself is very cosy, the bed was comfy and the kitchen fully stocked with breakfast food, tea coffee and beer in the fridge!

I especially liked that dogs were allowed as my search for dog friendly cottages in the peaks was really difficult!

I will be recommending to friends and family and would love to return! Stoney Middleton feels like an old friend now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your comments, and recommendation. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Delightful cottage. Had a lovely stay in Stoney Middleton with local walks and great local food. The cottage is cosy, clean, warm and we had a warm welcome.

On a practical level - no off street parking and the bedroom window faces the busy main road, so is noisy. However, this is dog friendly accommodation (I do feel, unfortunately, these can be few and far between) and we were left supplies for a tasty filling breakfast.

Whilst there isn't any off street parking, there are lanes within 2-3 minutes walk, where cars do seem to be safe.

If you're a light sleeper possibly not the place for you, but otherwise would recommend.

Thanks to Helen for your welcome and having a well stocked book shelf!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, and constructive criticism - we have one had fitted sound deadening glass In a new bedroom window and it is now much quieter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, it is much appreciated, and we are planning to have new secure gates in Spring 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
firestart...
lincoln
1 review
“Fabulous 🙂”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a delightful two nights in the cottage. It was very conveniently situated. Great walks on the doorstep, our dogs loved it. Very friendly hosts. Felt instantly at home. Loved the delightful breakfast basket and biscuits.
It's on a main road, but I still slept well (especially after a day of walking)
Thank you Helen for all the information about walks and things to do in the area. Hope to be back soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks for your lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We would be delighted to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny2410
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a pretty location”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here with my mum, sister and the dog to celebrate a birthday and go walking. We are all regulars to the Peak DIstrict and all agreed this is one of the best places we have stayed in. The cottage itself is really lovely with everything you could need and the breakfast hamper was excellent and really good value as the nightly rate to stay here is similar to other places in the Peak District but where you don't normally get all the additional food. The cottage is located in Stoney Middleton which is really pretty and very well located for the Monsail trail, Bakewell, Chatsworth etc. The pub across the road (The Moon Inn) is fantastic lovely atmosphere, great food and wine and very reasonable prices for big portions as well as being dog friendly. Helen, the cottage owner, was lovely and really helpful. Would definitely stay here again and hope to do so before too long.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your trip to Stoney Middleton, and will be delighted to see you again. Thanks for leaving the Barn so clean and tidy - it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing