We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to Marriott name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland Westlake
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Westlake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We booked on a busy weekend (U2 concert, holiday weekend) and arrived after 4 pm.
1. The man at the desk couldn't find our reservation and suggested maybe we had made a mistake. My husband is an elite status Marriott member for many years and that is the opposite kind of reception we expected.
2. Our room wasn't ready even though it was past check in time. There was a crowd waiting in the lobby for their rooms too. We were told it would be 15 minutes.
3. After a half hour I checked with the front desk and was told to wait another few minutes.
4. I then overheard the lady at the desk tell other guests that it would be about an hour for the rooms to be ready.
5. I had to go to the desk myself to confirm that I heard that correctly. No one from the desk bothered to come over to tell us it would be an hour. Complete lack of courtesy or respect.
6. No one offered any type of compensation for our trouble. We never saw a manager.
7. At check out we turned in a comment card with our contact information. Never heard from the manager.
I am rating it a 2 instead of a 1 only because the rooms themselves were nice. The lack of service and management was an embarrassment to the Marriott name.

Room Tip: Don't book on a busy weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaniD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela I, Manager at Courtyard Cleveland Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear RaniD77,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Courtyard Cleveland Westlake.

As we pride ourselves in delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. If you would like to contact me directly, I would be happy to discuss further.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope we have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Westlake.


Sincerely,

Pamela Irion
Operations Manager
Pamela.irion@cymwestlake.com
440-871-3756

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

This is a really good value for a hotel it's easy access to the west side especially to Lakewood and Rocky River. It also has accessibility to nearby restaurants animals without being around the hubbub of those areas. It's clean the service is good the staff is friendly and attentive and I've enjoyed my stay there in would come back. It has Starbucks coffee in the morning an okay breakfast a nice outdoor area for reading a fitness center and a clean whirlpool in regular pool

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

My niece got it in her head that we should drive on vacation no real Itinerary.I was just like her two small tots.The only thing I didn't like was the sinks outside the bathroom.I don't get that.The place was lovely,the staff was warm, and helpful the area was close to restaurants.Lots of activities within a close proximity.West lake seem like a charming town.Took the kids to play. We sat in whirlpool and splashed in the pool.Cleveland is rocks so is Courtyard!I think for of it as a business persons hotel but I loved it for family.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiBean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The hotel itself was fine. Clean and a normal courtyard. Nothing extremely outdated. The lobby was nice, pool small but well maintained. The lobby was very helpful for some larger family meetings and there was no issue bringing in food and getting some help (corkscrews, napkins, etc.). The outstanding item was the staff. We had so many strange requests and they never missed a beat or never made it feel like an extra ask. They helped with lobby temp, volume of background music, getting ice for our daughter, letting us put some ice packs in the freezer overnight (for medication), turning on the fireplace (in summer). They were really outstanding and seemed to enjoy working there and working with the guests. One of the best groups I've worked with.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Our non-smoking room reeked of old, stale smoke which made us ill. The smell was embedded in everything, including our bedding. We reported the problem twice and were told a machine would be placed in the room to clean the air but that also was not done. The TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cleveland Westlake which was next door would have been much better: less expensive, nice free breakfast, coffee/tea/apples in the lobby, etc. Our room had enough amenities for one person. The highlight was a very nice and accommodating cleaning lady who we really appreciated.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank joannavahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westlake hotels
4.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Westlake
4.7 km away
Hyatt Place Cleveland / Westlake / Crocker Park
5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cleveland West - Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Westlake
0.1 km away
TownePlace Suites Cleveland Westlake
4.7 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Cleveland Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland Westlake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland Westlake

Address: 25050 Sperry Dr, Westlake, OH 44145-1535
Region: United States > Ohio > Westlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Westlake
Price Range: ₹ 6,653 - ₹ 9,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland Westlake 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a comfortable and relaxing stay near Lake Erie and Downtown Cleveland at the Courtyard Cleveland Westlake. Enjoy spacious accommodations loaded with deluxe amenities like complimentary WiFi, mini-fridge and pillow-top bedding. Ideally located in Westlake near several of the area’s most popular attractions, including Crocker Park Shopping, Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and Cleveland Metroparks Zoo, plus the shores of Lake Erie are within walking distance. Built for efficiency, we’re the ideal hotel for business travelers and are located near Hyland Software, American Greetings, PolyOne, Cleveland Clinic and Ford Motor Company. Open for breakfast and dinner, our on-site eatery, The Bistro features a delicious menu of traditional favorites, Starbucks® beverages, wine, beer, and cocktails. From a fitness center, indoor pool and spa, high-tech business center to complimentary parking, we provide everything the modern traveler needs for a seamless and carefree stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland Westlake Hotel Westlake
Courtyard Westlake
Westlake Courtyard
Westlake Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing