We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandusky's Diamond in the Rough”
Review of Maples Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maples Motel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sandusky's Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Maples Motel is a truly wonderful motel. The motel is in a fabulous location, located between the 2 entrances of Cedar Point. I would highly recommend this motel to everyone. You still use a real key to enter your room, there are no phones or Wifi in the rooms, but they have a beautiful swimming pool. In the mornings they have fresh brewed coffee and fantastic donuts, fruit, and breakfast bars. The Faber Family who runs this little dream of a motel are the friendliest people you will probably ever meet. If you want that extra little personal relaxing atmosphere this is the place for you. The rates are excellent, the rooms are spotless, and it is a great place to visit. The big chain hotels and motels need to come and take lessons on the cleanliness and friendliness from the Faber’s. This is truly a gem. This is the only motel in the area I and my family will stay at. We have stayed here many times.

Room Tip: If you are taking your family request the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    64
    29
    22
    16
See reviews for
135
58
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is the kind of place that is hard to find throughout corporate America these days. If you are use to mall towns with cookie cutter Holiday Inns then it's time to try something like this and quit supporting the chains. It is older, but a lot cleaner than the chain hotels. The staff at Maples are the nicest people and they will make you feel welcome no matter where you are from.

To the person that left the bad review talking about the old furniture and no microwave - I really despise people like you. What do you expect? A lavish ritzy place that you find in Manhattan? No. Maples is very cheap to stay at and you shouldn't expect to have all the amenities that more expensive places have. You should conjure up a little logical and cultural sense before you bash a locally owned business ran by good people. If you happen to breed (and I hope you don't), try taking your family here for a couple nights and let them experience a little Americana. Or just get your little microwave at another motel and choke on your hot pocket. Good day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Maples in Sandusky is one motel which transports you back to the 60's! The owner and her son are the most kind & welcoming folks you'll ever meet.
I just love going here to get a break from the fast paced city life.
No Wi-Fi ! Quiet, relaxed atmosphere...just lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckodin0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Who ever put a picture of a bug on here was being very mean! because this place is very clean and fun to stay at !we really enjoyed our time at the maples motelwe told lots of friends how we was able to relax and enjoy the quietness yes the train is loud ,but it made our stay more special because i love trains and it wasreally unique! the staff is really friendly , this place is family owned and make you feel as if you are family! ,you get donuts and awsome coffee,and snacks in the morning! and cable tv ! and a very clean pool! we will return next year ,"2012"

Room Tip: the cabins are the best i would have to say! and only 4 mins from cedar point taking the back way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Attracted by the reasonable rates, pet-friendly policies, and the intriguing comments posted on this forum, we booked a last-minute family getaway at The Maples over Labor Day weekend. (Very few options remained by the time we started looking for a motel.) We fought holiday traffic along the turnpike from the Chicago metro area and finally reached Sandusky after dark. I can't explain it, but somehow between the bustling commercial strip of Highway 250 and the Rambler stationed in the Maples courtyard, we seem to have taken a detour back to the carefree Eisenhower Era. Situated near farmland, parkland, and nature preserves, the relaxed atmosphere of the motel and its grounds seemed to alleviate the stress of our grueling, five-hour drive. Our vacation truly began as we pulled into The Maples.
From its perch on the office windowsill, a cat monitored our arrival with a detached, professional demeanor while the proprietor welcomed us warmly. In spite of our late arrival, she invited us to use the swimming pool, which they kept open a little later than usual for our use. Now, normally I won't allow my loved ones anywhere near a motel pool. All too often, they're just murky repositories for dead bugs, unsupervised juvenile delinquents, and legionnaire's disease. However, one look at the sparkling clear Maples pool, and I hurried into my own swimsuit for a dip. What a joy, after a long, sweltering drive, to float peacefully in the cool water and gaze up at stars in the night sky. More than any other on our trip, that moment seemed to restore my soul.
Somewhat reminiscent of State Park Lodge accommodations, the rooms themselves were very clean and spacious enough for our family of four + dog. It was a hot, muggy evening, and the room was warm when we entered, but the a/c unit cooled things down quickly enough. We routinely travel with anti-bacterial wipes and febreze, but they weren't really necessary here. In the tidy bathroom, bar soap was provided, but, beyond that, you'll want to pack your own personal care items. And although other reviewers have complained about the sinks and showers, we didn't have any problems in Room #25. I think the facilities vary from room to room, so definitely discuss your needs with the staff before you book. Our tub was spacious enough for our two small children to share a leisurely bubble bath. (Again, I have not allowed this at many motels in our experience. Sometimes it's just "get in-get out and keep your flip-flops on!") At 5'10" and 5'9", my husband and I had no problem with the placement of the shower head and could shampoo easily without stooping.
The wall-mounted tube TV delivered the full complement of cable channels with crystal clear picture, and, as some have remarked, may be the only thing in the room to yank you back into the 21st century! (As in "Somewhere in Time") Maybe you'll be lucky enough to catch "Lawrence Welk," "The Donna Reed Show," or a Doris Day movie during your stay. There's a simple dial alarm clock on the bedside table, so pack your digital clock radio with ipod dock if that's what you prefer. And don't forget to juice up your cel, since there are no phones in the rooms. Our table lamp was equipped with electrical outlets in its base, which made for a handy charging station.
Although the furniture was dated, it was absolutely fine. After all, a table is a table is a table. My mattress, on the other hand, did sag a bit, no doubt from years of service as a trampoline for vacationing kids. (I shared with my five-year-old daughter, and we kept meeting in the middle.) It wasn't a huge deal for us, but if you require a firm bed, call ahead and ask if they offer someting with more support.
Part of the purpose of our trip was to pry our kids away from electronic entertainment while touring the Lake Erie Islands. (So, at this point, I'd like to thank the XBox fan who slammed this establishment on this forum. Dude, you sold me on this place in a way you could never imagine. Rock on. Do you have any non-recommendations near Pittsburgh?) For families with active children, the expansive lawns and swimming pool at The Maples are a godsend. (Maybe even moreso for families with inactive children!) Once unshackled from their car seats, our kids can turn a motel room upside-down in an instant--using the phone as though it were a Fisher-Price model, wadding up the bedding, and invariably knocking their skulls on the corner of the nightstand. Not so at The Maples, with easy, immediate access to well-maintained areas for swimming, jumping, and running. Whether seated on the benches outside the rooms, from a chaise on the pool deck, or at the shaded picnic tables, parents will find it easy to keep an eye on young children playing on the lawn or in the pool. Bring along a jump rope or round up other kids for a game of tag. You'd never be able to do that in a Super 8 parking lot!
On the subject of trains: the first horn we heard was pretty jarring, but before long we were actually looking forward to the absurd charm of the trains as they clattered by. They were not as frequent as we had feared. Our room was on the wing of the courtyard closer to the the tracks, so there was no ignoring the trains while we were awake. However, they never interrupted our sleep. Even my husband, a light sleeper who's disturbed by the slightest clink of our dog's collar tags, slept soundly without resorting to ear plugs.
There are mini-fridges in the rooms which you may wish to fill with snacks and beverages during your stay, as there are no adjacent stores or restaurants. (A few miles East along the costal highway, there's an outpost of Quaker Steak and Lube right on the water in downtown Vermillion. Triple Atomic Hot Wings and a Kids' Menu!!) The modest breakfast items offered in the Maples office should satisfy most travellers in the morning. I was so pleased to crunch into a fresh, crisp , locally-grown apple and then bite into a sweet, juicy, local peach. This was farmstand-quality produce, not like the mealy, shopworn disappointments I'd plucked from other motel fruit baskets in the past. The whole family enjoyed choosing our favoites from the array of fresh "Jolly Donuts," and there were individually wrapped granola bars for grab-and-go convenience. Most importantly for many of us, coffee was fresh and plentiful. If you're used to a full, hot breakfast, set aside time for a restaurant meal in town.
At The Maples, we experienced something sorely lacking in the Hotel/Motel industry--namely, "Hospitality." The caring, conscientious attitude of the owners goes far beyond the corporate-mandated civility found elsewhere, and their generosity of spirit was evident throughout our stay. Their neighborliness really sets the tone for how their guests interact with each other which greatly enhances the overall experience. We recommend this motel to travelers who want a change of pace from the mediocre chain hotels with their impersonal service. You'll have a handy home base for all the Sandusky area has to offer, but you'll feel miles away from the traffic and crowds. Our kids begged to stay longer as we prepared to depart, and we promised to return. We're so delighted we took a chance on The Maples!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Square-on-Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
336 reviews
3.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
4.6 km away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
229 reviews
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
3.0 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Motel

Property: Maples Motel
Address: 4409 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4429
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,252 - ₹ 6,958
Hotel Class:2 star — Maples Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maples Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Sandusky
Maples Motel Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing