We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Rodeway Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The local hotels really raised prices for Saturday night. Not sure if it was because of Halloween at Cedar Point or Point Fest but the prices jumped a lot. So, we decided the only thing left to do was to try this place. It's reviews were not too bad. The bathroom had mildew in the grout, there was a dust ring about the perimeter of the carpeted floor. It was definately very simple. The beds were fine. It was fine for crashing just the night after visiting Cedar Point. Breakfast was OJ and muffins. Really, it was only $50 and truly for that price I cannot complain much. The staff was very nice and accommodating with us with an error on the reservation.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you had an acceptable experience with us, but I apologize that we couldn’t satisfy you completely. I’m pleased our staff were friendly and helpful. Please know that we’ve improve the hotel in many ways recently and are now providing a better experience than ever before. I hope you will soon give us another try.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

As others have stated, this hotel did it's job, a good sleeping room, clean, and quiet. Make sure you reserve a room away from the pool, just for the noise factor. The room was clean, the beds quite comfortable. The room was cheap, and near to Cedar Point, as well as restaurants, etc. I'd use it also as a stopping off place for Put-in-Bay also, for a day trip.
My only complaint was that there was no hair conditioner provided. Plenty of soap, shampoo and clean towels.
The desk clerk's were friendly, and recommended Diana's Deli for breakfast (read my review), and we're very glad that they recommended it! :)
Packaged danish, along with coffee and juice were provided for a quick snack in the am.
All in all, we'd stop there again when travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenandoah_Gifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you had a pleasant experience with us and could only find minor issues with which to find fault. Nothing means more to us than a pleasant guest experience. Since your stay, we’ve made a number of changes and improvements that make the guest experience better, and I hope you will try us again soon -- if you haven’t already. We’re always here when you need us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for a quick trip to Cedar Point and Put-in-Bay. This hotel did its job well, just a place to sleep, decent location and mostly renovated room (we did laugh at the 60's/70's green tub and floor tile, but the rest of the bathroom was redone).

The best part of the hotel was the Chinese take-out resturant attached to the hotel - great and inexpensive food!

If we did another 2-3 day trip, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirPher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My family and I were on our way to Michigan for the week but first stopped in Sandusky to take the kids to Cedar Point. We stayed two night. The Hotel room was nice. It had 5 double beds plenty for all of us. Bedding was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. the only complaint I have is that the Internet was Horrible, The window in the bathroom was old so we got the bugs in the bathroom. If I ever get back to Sandusky again I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtchick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

OK, I'll try and make this brief. Stayed at this hotel because it was the only choice between this and another Rodeway in the the Sandusky area (and they both had bad reviews). This was my redemption of points as a choice rewards member for a free night. Ok 1st room 237, was terrible so I asked to see another room because the have a sign out front stating "Renovated Rooms". So, I ended up staying in rm 231, which was ok. Unlike the 1st room, this room was a bit updated (to their standards, very minimally). Bathroom was extremely small but clean, carpet looked ok, linen and bedding were clean, however the beds were hard as a rock. Overall, staff was friendly but the hotel itself is very out dated. Kids were at Cedar Point and I needed somewhere to relax, it was free but I wouldn't pay to stay here. As they say, you get what you pay for (rates were about $50 I hear, it would probably be ok for 1 night (if you can get a so-called renovated room). Internet worked well, but pool is in the middle of the parking lot and the swimmers were quite loud. I didnt stay overnight, picked up the kids when Cedar Pt closed and home we went. (only lived 1 hr away).

Room Tip: "Say you want a room that has a renovated bathroom" lol...that may help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurse4u1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.1 km away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#14 of 34 in Sandusky
304 reviews
5.9 km away
Camp Sandusky
Camp Sandusky
#4 of 6 in Sandusky
181 reviews
2.6 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky
1.5 km away
Cedar Point's Castaway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South

Address: 2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5608
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: ₹ 8,640 - ₹ 11,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer free WI-FI, digital cable including HBO, and a seasonal outdoor pool. We serve fresh coffee from 6AM through 9AM every morning. We are just 2 miles from Cedar Point, across the street from Goofy Golf, and minutes from many restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn South Hotel Sandusky
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point South
Rodeway Inn Sandusky
Rodeway Inn South Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing