We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“june 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
muskegon, michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“june 2011”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here the first week of June '11. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good, location was great. The sign says completely renovated - corners were definately cut in the renovation. The room smelled musty. I should have gone with the reviews I read but I thought I would give it a chance because of the renovation.

If single and hangin' with the guys, then maybe. But not with the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. We're glad that you noticed the recent renovations as many people have been pleasantly surprised by what we've been able to accomplish at this property. We hope to be able to be of service on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    63
    59
    74
    104
See reviews for
174
51
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have a very nice, updated and clean room. The paint looked recent, the carpet looked new and the bathroom very clean. Not sure of the bad reviews. Maybe not all the rooms are updated. Ours was what we would expect for paying the price we did. The breakfast was good. Eggs, waffles, bisquits, yogurt, juices, muffins, etc. This was the first Comfort Inn with a hallway entrance. We parked right outside our room and walked right in. It was convenient but it felt like a motel. No big deal. Very close to Cedar Point.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. It's GREAT to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the breakfast appealing. We hope to welcome you back to our property during your next visit to Sandusky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Checked in last night and walked out about 10 minutes later. The room looked okay initially, but we saw a bed bug on one of the pillows. We walked right out and told the staff member in the lobby. He did not sound even a little bit surprised. I'm guessing he's had other guests say the same thing.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. Although it sounds as if you weren't completely satisfied with your stay, it's helpful when travelers like yourself let us know where we can improve--as customer satisfaction, safety, and security are our number one priority.

As I'm sure you know, the issue of bed bugs is one that most all hotels have to deal with. Bed bugs are brought into hotel rooms because of the frequent turn-over of travelers and the varying degree of temperature, atmospheric conditions, etc. We have a very strong pest control program in place and hope that you'll treat this as an isolated incident. We'd welcome you back to try us again on your next stay to Sandusky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This place is not as bad as everyone says it is. The free breakfast is good, the location to Cedar Point is great and the price is right! Now that doesn't mean the place didn't smell a bit stale when we opened the door to the room. It is a motel with outside access doors, some folks may not like that. The rooms were clean and look recently remodeled. We'd stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipperfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks, very much, for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. As you indicated in your review, this property is one that has outside access to the rooms. That is something that's clear in all of our photos and that has some additional benefits when compared to other interior-hallway properties (e.g. ease of access to room from parking spaces, etc.).

We're really glad to hear that you found the property to be clean and well-maintained and that the complimentary full-breakfast met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next trip to Sandusky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked on line under advisement from co-workers, as it was a holiday weekend. Having never been to the area, I searched via hotels.com and looked for a moderately priced hotel.
We arrived after dark and exhausted after using our mapquest directions (which gave us the backroads tour).
The hotel said it was completely rennovated. In the dark, it looked to be ok. Not great, but ok.
It was not. I was fearful for bugs, not just bed-bugs, but fleas, and or crawling of all types. The air conditioner smelled dank and musty. The comforters were not clean. The remote control for the old fashion tv didn't work.
Because we booked thru hotels.com we had limited choice of changing. We took precautions and will never go back.
My recommendation is if travelling to Sandusky you must be going for Cedar Point. Check out Castaways. You can buy for $25 more than what I paid for the dump. Plus you get amusement park ticket for $29 (regularly $49). Your ticket / and hotel will provide you with early entry into Cedar Point to beat the lines.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you can. If you have to stay here, then inspect the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. I'm disappointed that your stay didn't meet or exceed all of your expectations. As a property in a heavily-travelled tourist area, we work hard to maintain quality standards for all of our guests. Although we seemed to have fallen short on the mark for your visit, we hope that you treat that as an issolated incident and try us again in the future. Your comments will most definitely serve as a good training tool for our management and staff as we continually strive to surpass guests' expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.3 km away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
0.8 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.0 km away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#11 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 km away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point
Address: 1711 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870-4305 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,847 - ₹ 11,309
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Cedar Point, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs. Inviting rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO and premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary breakfast and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing