We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice affordable stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice affordable stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This place is not as bad as everyone says it is. The free breakfast is good, the location to Cedar Point is great and the price is right! Now that doesn't mean the place didn't smell a bit stale when we opened the door to the room. It is a motel with outside access doors, some folks may not like that. The rooms were clean and look recently remodeled. We'd stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipperfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks, very much, for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. As you indicated in your review, this property is one that has outside access to the rooms. That is something that's clear in all of our photos and that has some additional benefits when compared to other interior-hallway properties (e.g. ease of access to room from parking spaces, etc.).

We're really glad to hear that you found the property to be clean and well-maintained and that the complimentary full-breakfast met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next trip to Sandusky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    63
    58
    74
    104
See reviews for
174
50
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked on line under advisement from co-workers, as it was a holiday weekend. Having never been to the area, I searched via hotels.com and looked for a moderately priced hotel.
We arrived after dark and exhausted after using our mapquest directions (which gave us the backroads tour).
The hotel said it was completely rennovated. In the dark, it looked to be ok. Not great, but ok.
It was not. I was fearful for bugs, not just bed-bugs, but fleas, and or crawling of all types. The air conditioner smelled dank and musty. The comforters were not clean. The remote control for the old fashion tv didn't work.
Because we booked thru hotels.com we had limited choice of changing. We took precautions and will never go back.
My recommendation is if travelling to Sandusky you must be going for Cedar Point. Check out Castaways. You can buy for $25 more than what I paid for the dump. Plus you get amusement park ticket for $29 (regularly $49). Your ticket / and hotel will provide you with early entry into Cedar Point to beat the lines.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you can. If you have to stay here, then inspect the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. I'm disappointed that your stay didn't meet or exceed all of your expectations. As a property in a heavily-travelled tourist area, we work hard to maintain quality standards for all of our guests. Although we seemed to have fallen short on the mark for your visit, we hope that you treat that as an issolated incident and try us again in the future. Your comments will most definitely serve as a good training tool for our management and staff as we continually strive to surpass guests' expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Excellent for the price. Rooms were very clean, and completely renovated. Staff was very friendly, and helpful.

This hotel was very close to cedar point and very convenient. This was important to me as we were travelling with 4 children.

Some reviews complain because there are no indoor hallways. This is not that type of hotel. The pictures clearly show that. There are no bugs in these rooms at all. We had two rooms, the only bugs that got in were a few mosquitos when my kids were holding the door open too long!! The doors open to the outside, to a well lit sidewalk, of course, if you hold to door open at night it is possible for a bug to fly in.

The breakfast was good. It was a continental breakfast the also included fresh waffles, small cheese omelettes, and biscuits with hot gravy. There was a friendly attendant there at all time keeping everything full.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
It sounds as if your stay exceeded all of your expectations and for that, we're very happy. Thanks for taking the time to let other travelers know that our property has been completely renovated, that we have customer-friendly staff, and that we provide value for peoples' hard-earned money. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Reasonable price, and minutes from Cedar Point. Exterior of hotel is a little old but rooms are recently renovated. Ours was clean, stocked and free from odors of any kind. Free breakfast was your standard, decent Comfort Inn fare. Staff was always friendly and courteous. Swimming pool area could use a little sprucing up, but not that bad - the water quality was clear and not over-chlorinated although a little skimming and vacuuming wouldn't hurt. Overall, a good choice for a Cedar Point trip - close to park and clean rooms to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you, so much, for taking the time to review your stay at our property. It sounds as if your stay was more than satisfactory and for that, we're proud! The other comments in your review remind us that it's a continual campaign to strive for unmatched customer service and quality standards. You have our pledge that we make that a continual priority. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Yes, it needs updating. My husband and I and our three teenagers spent two nights there. Breakfast was incredible! We paid $66 for breakfast at Perkins the day before we checked in. Since our plan was to have a quick breakfast and get to the park before 9:30 this was perfect. We also closed the park down and pretty much grabbed showers and our pillows. Very easy to go back to mid day if necessary. I'm glad I didn't waste the extra money at the Breakers Express. Dairy Queen breakfast awful, and the hour early to the park isnt needed. Not a great hotel, but ok for the price and convenience to the park. Staff was nice and the breakfast attendant efficient. Yes, seating was limited at peak times, so go early. Next time I would look for a hotel on Cleveland Road with an efficiency, or stay at the Breakers or SandCastile Resorts right on property if we were staying longer. Def get your discount tickets at Meijers on Milan Rd.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyof5or3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks for reviewing our property and for letting other travelers know about our ultra-convenient location and the attentiveness of our staff. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Sandusky and Cedar Point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.4 km away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
5.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#15 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.7 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point
Address: 1711 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,735 - ₹ 13,791
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Cedar Point, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs. Inviting rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO and premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary Continental breakfast, game room, and heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing