We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart choice for Cedar Point trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smart choice for Cedar Point trip”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Reasonable price, and minutes from Cedar Point. Exterior of hotel is a little old but rooms are recently renovated. Ours was clean, stocked and free from odors of any kind. Free breakfast was your standard, decent Comfort Inn fare. Staff was always friendly and courteous. Swimming pool area could use a little sprucing up, but not that bad - the water quality was clear and not over-chlorinated although a little skimming and vacuuming wouldn't hurt. Overall, a good choice for a Cedar Point trip - close to park and clean rooms to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you, so much, for taking the time to review your stay at our property. It sounds as if your stay was more than satisfactory and for that, we're proud! The other comments in your review remind us that it's a continual campaign to strive for unmatched customer service and quality standards. You have our pledge that we make that a continual priority. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    66
    63
    76
    107
See reviews for
179
56
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Yes, it needs updating. My husband and I and our three teenagers spent two nights there. Breakfast was incredible! We paid $66 for breakfast at Perkins the day before we checked in. Since our plan was to have a quick breakfast and get to the park before 9:30 this was perfect. We also closed the park down and pretty much grabbed showers and our pillows. Very easy to go back to mid day if necessary. I'm glad I didn't waste the extra money at the Breakers Express. Dairy Queen breakfast awful, and the hour early to the park isnt needed. Not a great hotel, but ok for the price and convenience to the park. Staff was nice and the breakfast attendant efficient. Yes, seating was limited at peak times, so go early. Next time I would look for a hotel on Cleveland Road with an efficiency, or stay at the Breakers or SandCastile Resorts right on property if we were staying longer. Def get your discount tickets at Meijers on Milan Rd.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyof5or3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks for reviewing our property and for letting other travelers know about our ultra-convenient location and the attentiveness of our staff. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Sandusky and Cedar Point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First I'd like to say that we booked this hotel hours before arriving because we were making a detour on the way home from a wedding. With everything going on we somehow managed to forget to book something for our trip to Cedar Point.

Now we weren't expecting anything fancy, just something cheap but clean. We had actually stayed somewhere very nice for the wedding and knew we wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel for our Cedar Point trip. We needed 2 beds for 4 adults. We were unable to book with anywhere at Cedar Point (which we won't forget to do next time).

We arrived about forty minutes after check-in time to see a line waiting.The phone is ringing off the hook and the line isn't moving. There's only one person behind the counter who informs the guests there's only one person on the cleaning staff right now so they're behind. It seemed that the guest booked two rooms and both were not cleaned. I was a little worried to see our room.

Our room smelled clean but it didn't feel very clean, it seemed more like an air freshener was sprayed. The air was turned all the way up in our room and it was freezing cold. The ice machine was out of order. We didn't have enough towels for the amount of guests in our room. We paid about $120 or so for one night because we had four adults and I don't feel as if we got our money's worth.

Next time we'll remember to book with one of Cedar Point's resorts on time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilysMommy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to offer a review of our property. I apologize that your stay didn't exceed your expectations because that is for what we constantly strive. As you know, our property is located is a very heavily-travelled tourist destination location. As such, the turn-over of our rooms is almost 100% each and every day. That sometimes makes for difficulties in getting all rooms ready by the stated check-in period but is not an excuse. We hope that you'll give us another shot in the future and that we'll have another opportunity to provde to you that customer service, safety, and security are our number one priorities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Not knowing Sandusky...the thought of Maingate sounded good, but there are plenty of hotels up there....a 10 minute drive would have been better...cheap dirty feeling rooms, hard matresses, nice breakfast if you had food to get or somewhere to sit......after days of begging by the kids we went to the pool...it was so dirty we wouldn't let them get in.....I would stay on Milan rd or another hotel near cedar point. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlewis6230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that we didn't meet, or exceed, your expectations. Your comments will help us to further train our staff and remind us that customer service and satisfaction is our number one goal. We hope you'll treat your last stay with us as an isolated incident and that you'll give us another opportuity to be of service to you and your family in the future. We'd like to earn your trust!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The room was nothing special, a bit outdated. The location is pretty good, if you're not willing to spend the money to stay at one of the hotels on the Cedar Point property.
We had reservations at the Breakers (inside Cedar Point) for Tuesday and Wednesday nights. At the last minute, we decided to drive up late on Monday, and stay at this hotel, so that we could get into the park early on Tuesday. The hotel room was just adequate. Tolerable for a night, so that we could be at the park early on Tuesday morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAS-PGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We're glad that you found your stay satsifactory, but we hope, in the future, you'll give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.7 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.8 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
217 reviews
2.0 km away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
5.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
326 reviews
0.3 km away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Address: 1711 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870-4305 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,172 - ₹ 10,925
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn Sandusky, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find inviting, clean rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO with premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary breakfast and brand new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing