We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Elevator !! not the best example but right for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No Elevator !! not the best example but right for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked 2 rome for two night on a recent visit to cedar point, easy access to hotel and not to far from the park. The front of desk staff were not the most efficient but friendly enough. You get the feel this was not your normal Marriott and was in need of modernization. The do not even have an electronic card reader they took imprints of the card. The payment didn't come off the card for quite a few days which meant a pending charge was sat eating up your credit, not a real problem as the rate I got was very good.
The best thing about this hotel was the Mexican restaurant across the road what a fantastic find !!! It doesn't look much but wow the food was excellent so much so we went both nights. So overall not the best hotel, however for your money fair. Biggest down side was no elevator we were on the second floor and had quite a few bags as we were traveling over a few days not fun dragging them up the stairs. Breakfast was standard nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    126
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
165
85
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is an excellent base of operationsif you intend to enjoy the Lake Erie experience of sites and abutting entertainnment and adventuers. The hotel is easily accessed from Route 2. The rooms are kept clean and fresh. Employees are friendly , helpful and pleasant. Overall the hotel is neat, fresh and tiddy. Priced right for the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayray54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here on our recent weekend trip to Cedar Point. The hotel was fairly close to the park (about 20 minutes). Rooms were nice and fairly large - we had two queen beds and a sleeper sofa, which was quite comfortable. The room also had a refrigerator in it, which was a nice surprise. My kids loved the pool - it was a good-sized pool for hotels. The fitness room was very small, though. It had one treadmill, some free weights, and an eliptical machine. The free breakfast was my favorite part of the hotel. The food was great and the staff was really helpful. It was a great way to fuel up for a day at the park. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

The biggest drawbackof the hotel was the fact it has no elevator - I'm surprised, what with all the Govt "intervention" for the disabled, etc, but whatever....it is,however, a real inconvenience...the other aspects were very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

The Good:
Customer Service is excellent at this hotel. Staff greeted us and got us immediately checked in, even gave us a coupon for the African Safari Wildlife Park. They were very attentive and even allowed for a later check out at no charge.
Breakfast was great, lots of choices including various yogurts, fruit, bagels, microwavable breakfast sandwiches and so on.
The bad:
Our toilet overflowed at one point in the evening for no apparent reason. I mean literally was coming out of the back of the toilet like a waterfall! The person at the front desk immediately came down and took care of it. I felt bad as she was the only person in the entire hotel working that evening and was the one that had to clean up the massive amounts of water and mess.YUCK!

The indoor pool area is HOT and can become quite slippery which concerned us since we were traveling with smaller children. Honestly its an accident just waiting to happen.

The rooms we had (we booked two adjoining rooms) need updated desperately, the carpet was so filthy my sons socks were black within a two hour period from walking around on the carpet. The bathrooms look runned down, over all the place just needs a face lift. There were also cracks and pieces missing from the ceiling. We are Platinum Marriott members and the rooms were not up to Marriott quality. For $152 a night I expected better. This hotel is a 2 star at best, with 5 star service

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onehappyfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.8 km away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
7.6 km away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Address: 3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Port Clinton Islands' Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,650 - ₹ 14,255
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Port Clinton
Fairfield Port Clinton
Port Clinton Fairfield Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing