We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Not to Like?”
Review of Rose & Thistle

Rose & Thistle
Ranked #16 of 125 Restaurants in Perrysburg
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Rose and Thistle founded by Lee Tebbetts(deceased) in 2001 and now run and owned by Chef Matthew Gustovson, offers elegant fine dining with an emphasis on service that makes everyone feel like a local. The menu which is ever changing, keeps up with the only fresh ingredients, including amazing seafood, hand cut steaks and what the seasons bring through the door. The top shelf bar offers a great place to mingle with locals and visitors alike, great wines, tapped local beers make The Rose and Thistle one of the tastiest and friendliest places in Perrysburg.
Reviewed 13 May 2017

This is a small restaurant with rustic brick walls providing an intimate ambience. White table cloths and an attentive waitress (Kelly) made for a great evening. Our dinner started with drinks and generous pours of wine. Mussel and foie gras appetizers were really good and served with toast points. Kelly kept her eye on us and, as bread ran low, kept us supplied without asking. This was no small feat as she was the only waitress in the dining room. The house salad had heirloom tomatoes and a nice dressing. Three us had the beef Wellington while I had the filet mignon. The Wellington was good but not great because it was missing foie gras for some reason. My filet was perfectly cooked medium rare and was thick and terrific. The entrees were accompanied by a wedge of scalloped potatoes and some veggies which included black carrots and french green beans. Coffee and a blue berry and peach cobbler finished off a wonderful evening. El Chompo bites again!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElChompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Far better than one would expect in a place with "Pub" in its name. My biggest complaint which I don't even want to mention it is so trivial is have a better vermouth for the Manhattans. The food and service were excellent. Very intimate with nice linens. Was glad they requested one man to remove his baseball cap, not appropriate for fine dining. Be nice if it doesn't become popular, far to nice to be shared with the general public.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ccharlesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The food had it's good and bad points. The escargot had very good flavor but they were overcooked. The Beef Wellington meat was very tender and cooked perfectly. However the pastry shell was still doughy in most parts. The service was prompt and pleasant. The cocktails were good too.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank TJHeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Appetizers are very exceptional and so is their wine selection. The atmosphere is nice, and the small bar in front wasn't bothersome to me as mentioned in some reviews. The servers were on the money and they are used to serving large groups of 8-12...and the tips that are left behind. I did leave wondering if I would get the same attention on a couples night...so will find out with the wife someday soon. The entrees are small and highly priced. I have had steak here twice and this latest visit was no disappointment. The filet was done to perfection. You can get just as good of grub at the Longhorn Steakhouse for 2/3 the price....trust me. However, this is a quaint place with superb service and atmosphere so if you are looking to celebrate with a loved one or two...I believe you will have a memorable experience and will likely go back again like I have.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Quaint little gourmet restaurant. A MUST to try! Food is prepared with that special touch and is constantly perfection ! Caesar salad is phenomenal, home made soups, seafood and steaks we enjoy it all and are frequent diners....no TV in bar so it's romantic and very enjoyable

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank ShuGirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rose & Thistle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing