We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ancient furniture, dirt in the room, sticky sutface of doors, bla and expensive restaurant food, variable experience with staff, not working equipment (one jacuzzi was out of service), bird poop on balcony railings, far from spotless bathroom. Moved out the next day. Wasted vacation time and a lot of money. Shoul have asked for a refund.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manesapiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, General Manager at Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center. I appreciate your patronage and would like to offer you my sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay.

Unfortunately, words alone can't express how truly disappointed I am that we were unable to meet simple expectations during your visit. The issues you describe are not consistent with the type and quality of services the Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center has become synonymous with. Rest assured that your comments will be directed to the appropriate members of management and addressed promptly. Again, please accept my apologies.

I hope your recent experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the future and experiencing our usual high standards of operation. If you decide to visit us again, please ask for me so I can personally ensure that your next stay is far more enjoyable.

Patrick Czarny
General Manager
Maumee Bay State Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    146
    33
    19
    9
See reviews for
212
86
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We wanted an overnight in the Toledo area and went to Maumee Bay Lodge at the suggestion of friends. Lifelong Ohioans, we didn't even know it was there. The Lodge is right on the edge of the bay on Lake Erie.. The winter wind churned the water and watching it from the wide windows of the dining room we were glad we were inside where the fireplaces add to the ambiance. Our room was lakeside and we loved the view. We had an interesting walk on the boardwalk over the marsh and saw the grasses, trees and even deer. The dining room had the best wait staff who were so accommodating and friendly. The only downside was the rate was billed as a "Hot date " rate and we had to sleep on double beds, comfortable, but alone.

Room Tip: ask for a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Amazing place. Our room was on the first floor and had an amazing view. The lake in the background was so beautiful. We went there in the winter just after xmas and it was lovely- although in the summer it will be breathtaking!

Room Tip: Choose one facing the lake-that's all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This holiday season we are staying in the cottages at Maumee Bay - they are clean, cozy, and spacious to say the least. The kitchen is well equipped: we don't feel that we are missing out on any amenities. The view is beautiful! It is also great to have access to the lodge: the pool and hot tubs are a great way to unwind but the work out room is less then to be desired. Some of the equipment is a bit run down, but if you are a stationary bike/treadmill/free weight person then you'll be fun. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. Strongly recommend the cottages to anyone who is looking for more than a hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckypeekn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

What a beautiful ceremony! The Lake in the background was so perfect for a fall evening wedding. The reception hall was nice, the food was decent. We had a lake facing room and it was a good size with a fridge and a flat screen TV. The bathroom needs some help, it is a bit outdated. The facilities are great for a State Park and though I did not use the restaurant, I have heard it is a pretty good one!

Room Tip: Lake side was the same price is the garden view rooms when we booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckypeekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn Toledo / Oregon
11.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
20.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Toledo-Oregon
10.7 km away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#5 of 5 in Oregon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
24.3 km away
Holiday Inn Perrysburg - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 1750 State Park Rd # 2, Oregon, OH 43616-5800
Region: United States > Ohio > Oregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oregon
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,614 - ₹ 18,557
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Erie and only 15 minutes east of downtown Toledo, Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center is a full-service resort-style property offering an array of amenities, activities and recreational opportunities: marina, championship golf course, swimming pools, boardwalk, biking trails, racquetball courts, tennis, small boat rentals, hiking trails, and more. All 120 modern guestrooms have a private balcony/patio and provide spectacular views of the surrounding park. The 24 cottages feature fireplaces and modern amenities. Meeting facilities are available for corporate events, reunions, church retreats and wedding receptions. The Water's Edge Restaurant is suitable for a special occasion or family outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maumee Bay Hotel Oregon
Maumee Bay Ohio
Maumee Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing