We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I wanna go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelsonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins
Pataskala, Ohio
1 review
“I wanna go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I have 5 kids! We all LOVE Happy Hills!

The owners are wonderful people and went out of their way to help us and others. A couple that camped near us this weekend was having trouble with their camper lights and their A/C unit. The husband (owner) did everything he could to help fix the problem they were having and called a repair company for them, which came to the campground to service the camper! (The camper didn't belong to the campground owners, but they tried their best to help at no charge)

There was a Karaoke contest on Saturday night! The winner got a t-shirt from the Karaoke host(s). They were very pleasant and friendly people as well.

They also have a crafts hour for the kids and a hayride!

The owners are putting a swimming area in their lake and it looks like that will be a great area for my kids to have fun. They have a pool too!

We will CERTAINLY be going back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2Five597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
41
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacklick, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We've been there a few times over the last 2 years and every time we're there we don't want to leave. We wish we had a camper, cause we'd get a seasonal site.

They're rules aren't hard to follow and they're ALWAYS willing to go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

They have a nice pool, a great fishing pond that you can ACTUALLY catch fish at and they always have entertainment on the weekends. (Karaoke, Pinewood Derby, Ice Cream Socials, etc.)

October is A LOT of fun, cause they have Halloween activities EVERY weekend and allow you to set up decorations.

They ALWAYS have an ample amount of ice, soda, firewood, etc. at reasonable prices.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F6Rider98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ford City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Not close to Hocking Hills attractions, Pool closed by Health Dept. Pool not close to campground, (500 yards) had it's own parking area!! Camp sights very unlevel, (bring lots of blocking!) and close together. Restrooms very poor conditions, Store closed more than open. Only 30 amp sites no extra recepticles , very poor wiring in boxes, not safe for kids. Worst campground we have stayed at for the price.The week we were there 7 other camping units were unhappy also, said web site very deceiving!!! Won't go there again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 01toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Our website accurately reflects our campground. Our pool was closed for the first and last time since we have owned the campground (8 years). We provided all campers with passes to a water park located in Nelsonville, free of charge.

We are also known for having the most level sites in the Hocking Hills, however, our name and our location clearly indicates "hills". During the summer months our camp store is open every day at 9:00 - 6pm Mon - Wed, and 9:00 - 9:00 Thurs, Fri, & Sat. Sunday we close at 2, but we have our phone number posted and we live on the property.

Since this review was written (2011), We have a new shelter house, new camp store, new game room, a beach at our lake and are in the process of upgrading some of our sites to 50AMP this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

we loved there! great activities, magician show and karaoke were great . rules are strictly enforced ( quiet time and firering rule). great for families. small pool ,bathrooms are normal for a campground. alittle faraway from hocking hills caves (maybe 15 miles) they will deliver fire wood to your site!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmurphyLebanon_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

For starters the house they rented us was infested with mice. There was mouse poop in all the drawers and cabinets, closets and bathrooms, even on the window sills in the bedrooms. When we brought this to there attention they were very rude, did nothing about the problem and then told us it was part of nature. There was also a 5-6 foot snake in our bathroom...probably looking to dine on the mice. This too we were assured was just part of nature. They were shocked that we complained, even acted like they were offended. I would never ever stay any where on thier property again. Not only was it a filthy environment but the owners were not even willing to admit there was a problem or even try to fix it. They just kept insisting that this was "PART OF NATURE". We would have been better off sleeping in the woods.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jcvaughan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelsonville
11.9 km away
Bessemer Hostel
Bessemer Hostel
#2 of 2 in Nelsonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
19.3 km away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
13.9 km away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hills Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

Property: Happy Hills Campground and Cabins
Address: 22245 State Route 278, Nelsonville, OH 45764
Region: United States > Ohio > Nelsonville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nelsonville
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,743 - ₹ 5,027
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins is a beautiful campground in the Hocking Hills featuring a private fishing lake, swimming pool, game room, playground, Modern spotless bath house, a laundry facility and a camp store. Happy Hills is conveniently located to the State Park attractions, as well as great shopping, antique malls, craft specialty shops, golf, ATV and bike trails, and restaurants.A Great Family Place"Happy Hills is the perfect retreat for couples, family, or friends to enjoy nature."FEATURES - Camping Cabins & Spacious Sites - Premium/Deluxe Campsites with patio, grill, table & chairs - Beach area for Lake Swimming - Swimming Pool 2' to 5' - Fishing Lake, Fun Boats, Paddle Boats and Rowboat & Kayaks - Game Room - WIFI - Laundry Facility - Shuffleboard Court, Playground, disc golf, and Horseshoes - Modern Clean Bath house - Camp Store with Groceries, Snacks, Necessities, Firewood, Camper - Parts,LP Gas - Quiet leashed Pets are Welcome - All sites have a Picnic Table and a Fire Ring, (perfect for star gazing) - Shaded Primitive Sites - 45 Acres of Relaxation, Good Times, and Happy Memories - Walking/hiking trails - Open for turkey and deer hunting season - 8 miles from ATV trails - Shelter House with planned activities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Hills Campground And Cabins Hotel Nelsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing