We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”
Review of Gold Star Chili

Gold Star Chili
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Monroe
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very good service , love the gold star chili and the chili cheese hot dogs . clean store clean restrooms .relaxed

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank darlenemichael75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016

This is out go to location when we want something different. The food and service are good and quick. I would rate higher if the restaurant was more modern looking and not so cold inside.nwe started to get the food takeout since it's so cold inside.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigmarv1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I couldn't believe the prices. They did away with their combos. Hot dogs still the size of my middle finger and more expensive then before. Double decker sandwich, 2 cheese coneys, 2 orders of fries and 2 reg pops, $20. Not that the food is bad but in my opinion it's to expensive for what you get and for what it is.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Homeofthegoodburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Good chili but not as good as Dixie chili in Kentucky.Need more meat and less juice in chili.Friendly staff and warm and weclome on ther service.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank rltp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

When we moved from Alabama to Cincinnati we were introduced to a different "chili" than we had ever heard of before! It is rumored to have either cinnamon or cocoa or both in it. It is thin and served either over spaghetti or on very small hot dogs....piled high with finely grated cheddar cheese. Chili on spaghetti with cheese is a "3 way"...add onions and or beans for a four way or a five way. I love their coneys with chili and onions and cheese. It is nothing like any chili I ever had in Alabama...but if you just think about it as a whole new food item....it is very tasty!!!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gold Star Chili also viewed

 
Monroe, Warren County
Monroe, Warren County
 

Been to Gold Star Chili? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing