We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a beautiful lunch on the upstairs, open air dining area.”
Review of Kona Grill

Kona Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Description: Kona Grill was built on Exceptional Experiences and meals that create memories. Our global menu features contemporary American favorites, award-winning sushi, and specialty cocktails — all made from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. While the places that inspire our cuisine may be far away, a welcoming place that offers inspiring food, ultimate hospitality, and diverse choices is right around the corner.
Restaurant details
Description: Kona Grill was built on Exceptional Experiences and meals that create memories. Our global menu features contemporary American favorites, award-winning sushi, and specialty cocktails — all made from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. While the places that inspire our cuisine may be far away, a welcoming place that offers inspiring food, ultimate hospitality, and diverse choices is right around the corner.
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Our son and his wife took us to Kona Grill (one of their favorite places) while visiting them. It was a gorgeous day in Cincy for a Sunday in April and we enjoyed the open air seating on the top floor of Kona Grill. 3 of the 4 of us had sandwhiches (tuna sliders, chicken, etc.) and I had the Chicken & Shrimp lettuce wraps...all said their choices were delicious. The lettuce wraps were actually on the menu as a starter, but they were plenty for one person for an entrée. I was shocked to see later that the lettuce wraps had 750 calories and 40 grams of carbs...but I guess that is why they tasted so good. The sauce was just a bit too spicy for me but when mixed w/the filling and lettuce it wasn't too bad. Cost seen on the menu for main entrees was pretty pricey...most entrees upwards of $25-$30. However, the sandwiches and starters were all under around $15, so reasonable for the kind of upscale looking place this is. There are umbrella tables, wonderful outdoor booths w/draping sun shades, as well as open air fireplaces with padded bench seating surrounding them for those who just want to relax and have a drink or appetizers. So very nice! They also have extensive sushi and a wonderful sushi bar downstairs but we didn't sample that on this visit. Service was friendly and efficient. I can see why this is our family member's favorite place! I'm sure we will be back when in the Cincy area again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

We're happy to hear you had a great time while joining us on your last visit! Thank you for the feed back. We hope to see you again soon, maybe for some delicious sushi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Poor vegetarian choice, but group decision to come.
Personally not to my taste but the others enjoyed it. Its hard surfaces just reflected all the other groups and the TVs, so hard to hear others around the table.
Food was good.
Not a natural choice for me.

1  Thank hw-in-bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

As we're always looking for areas of opportunity, we thank you for your feed back. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to eat here after unsuccessfully waiting for a table for over 2 hours at Coopers Hawk across the street. We were extremely hungry and slightly irritated but Kona Grill made it all better!!! The hostesses got our group of 6 a table within 10 minutes and they were very pleasant. Our waiter, Trevor, was extremely helpful and nice. The food was great as well! I got the Cajun salmon bow tie pasta and the salmon was buttery, moist, and cooked perfectly. Such a wonderful experience!!

1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

We're happy that we turned your evening around! Thanks for your feed back. We hope to see you back in again soon, maybe for another cajun salmon pasta. You can always ask for Trevor anytime you join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Nice menu at reasonable prices. Huge sushi selection. Full bar as well as regular dining seating. Upstairs has another bar and seating including outdoor seats. This would be a great spot for warmer weather dinner and drinks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Kona Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

We're glad to hear you had a great time while joining us. We look forward to seeing you soon on our rooftop patio with a cocktail in hand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

A couple of weeks ago we had a not so great experience here. But let me tell you- Robert the manager went well above and beyond to not only fix the past mistake but enhance the present as well. He is a class act and deeply cares about the business and the customers. Also Gabe the waiter was fantastic and really took awesome care of us and even entertained our two kids. Kudos to Kona. Food was excellent as well this time. We will be back!

Thank mws813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kona Grill also viewed

Liberty Township, Butler County
Liberty Township, Butler County
 
Liberty Township, Butler County
Liberty Township, Butler County
 

Been to Kona Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing