We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect - a truly magical place to stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Sun across the ocean to the deck at Avalon Coastal Retreat Perched on a cliff top overlooking Great Oyster Bay Tasmania
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Sun across the ocean to the deck at Avalon Coastal Retreat
Perched on a cliff top overlooking Great Oyster Bay Tasmania
One of the 3 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms
Avalon Coastal Retreat - sunrise on the beach
A big cosy fire for winter
Superbly equipped kitchen and Huon Pine dining table
Huon Pine bath in the main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kellysD35...
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect - a truly magical place to stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Came here for a special celebration with close friends. Fabulous location - everything we needed was there - even extra food supplies for anything we had forgotten. We did mean to leave and go out for the day but we couldn't bring ourselves to venture further than the private beach below the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you for such a wonderful review - we hope you can come and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lil198
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful setting, beautiful house”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We held our wedding here this October. Obviously, there was a lot of organisation involved, and the management from Avalon were nothing but helpful. They were flexible about checkin and out times, allowing us to begin setting up as early as possible. The house was beautiful, clean and warm (which on that weekend was particularly important). We had the property for 3 nights, and my husband and I stayed there together the night after the wedding. There was everything we needed to be comfortable and wind down, without having to worry about anything.

Would highly recommend Avalon Coastal Retreat to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that we could add to you special day and provide a relaxing retreat for you and your husband. We would love to welcome you back and perhaps celebrate an anniversary here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThatLisa
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were made to feel very welcome and special by our host Anne who showed us around the property. The house, fittings, furniture and artwork are beautiful. The house, with its extensive glass, allows you to be part of the stunning ocean and bushland environment in a very luxurious way, with beautiful views wherever you look. Despite being so accessible from the main road, once on the property, you feel like you are in your own world. Avalon has the best-stocked pantry and complimentary products we have ever seen in a holiday stay, with a kitchen that's decked out for catering. The complimentary food was much more than we could eat and drink in our very short time there. We only wish it was longer.

This is a place where it's easy to unwind and that has that extra something special about it. It would make a beautiful venue for an extended stay or a special event.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Dear Lisa, thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words about Avalon Coastal Retreat! It's always so affirming to hear that all the details we take care with, like the artwork and complimentary provisions do make the property a memorable and special destination for you, our treasured guests and we do hope to welcome you back again one day in the near future. Warmest wishes, -Amanda, Avalon Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darci W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a wedding!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I got married here, staying three nights, and it is an amazing place to stay and a stunning location. All our guests raved about the location and the house and we plan to come back and stay here for our first wedding anniversary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Congratulations on your beautiful wedding Darci. We loved having you and your friends share this special day at Avalon Coastal Retreat and we can't wait to have you back to stay with us to relive the memories. Warm best wishes, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A world away”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Over our two night stay we experienced weather that ranged from sublime to mist and rain. It was amazing to watch the changing view from the expansive glass living room. Avalon is truly a place of beauty, peace and solitude - in stark contrast to sad events unfolding in Paris at the time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: apart from the beautiful property itself we enjoyed the privacy
Liked least: wished the TV dropped into the cabinet so it didn't obscure view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Dear Stephanie, thank you for your lovely words about your stay at Avalon Coastal Retreat. It's certainly heartening to hear that the retreat was able to offer such peace and tranquility despite the tumultuous events unfolding in the world around us at the time. It's very humbling to hear that the energy we put into creating a rejuvenating experience for you and indeed all of our guests was truly capable of offering you the respite and inspiration you needed during your time away. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words about your experience with us. Very best wishes -The team at Avalon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing