We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing house immersed in a wonderful natural...”
other traveller has booked this property
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Sun across the ocean to the deck at Avalon Coastal Retreat Perched on a cliff top overlooking Great Oyster Bay Tasmania
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Sun across the ocean to the deck at Avalon Coastal Retreat
Perched on a cliff top overlooking Great Oyster Bay Tasmania
One of the 3 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms
Avalon Coastal Retreat - sunrise on the beach
A big cosy fire for winter
Superbly equipped kitchen and Huon Pine dining table
Huon Pine bath in the main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leigh M
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“An amazing house immersed in a wonderful natural setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time enjoying the view particularly in the evening, sitting in front of the fire which warmed the whole living area. The facilities were excellent, particularly the kitchen and the larder was so well stocked.
We really liked the art work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the Bay and the warmth of the house
Liked least: The bathroom didn't have enough room for spongebags - the towels took up all the space.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - the fire at Avalon Coastal Retreat is a joy - specially the way it is set in amongst the glass walls, so you don't miss the view - sea/bush/fire/sea/bush/fire! so relaxing!

We look forward to having you return to stay and thank you for taking the time to review our Avalon Coastal Retreat.

Warm wishes Peta (Avalon Retreats booking office).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
thank you for your lovely review of Avalon Coastal Retreat - we hope you experienced the moon setting across the ocean, or woke to the sun rising over the Freycinet and gliding across the sea to gently wake you in the morning.

We are delighted your friends enjoyed their stay and we look forward to having you all return.

Warm best wishes from the Avalon Retreats family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BretMyGal...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“An Experience We Will Never Forget.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in August 2013

So here we are almost a year from when we stayed and the memory is still etched in our minds as if it happened yesterday. This was more than a holiday. I promise you will never appreciate this review until you open the door yourself to this amazing place; you will simply nod your head and smile realising what we said. The moment we walked in we were taken by the scenery. Immediately we were in another world and never wanted to leave. The retreat is the most amazing place to cook, talk and relax as a family or with friends. Bring nothing but a high expectation, every need is catered for. The property is the most wonderful place to explore. It is now on our agenda to stay each year and we just cant wait till the next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to decide
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
We love that you loved Avalon Coastal Retreat and it stays in your heart and minds - come back soon! It is nearly Whale Watching time, so a beautiful time over winter to visit our East Coast retreat in Tasmania.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your review. Best wishes, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozzbird
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing House with fabulous view”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

An amazing house perched on top of the cliff with superb views across the ocean. The house is tastefully decorated and very cleverly equipped. Everything you could possible need is provided, from DVD's to the wetsuit for a swim at the private beach!

Full breakfast is provided and ready to be cooked and some frozen meals and a good range of beverages are provided at reasonable prices so you don;t have to leave Paradise while you are there!

It is easy 1 1/2 drive from Hobart and can;t be missed as it is directly off the main road. Traffic does however not interrupt the serenity of the place.

We unfortunately only stayed one night but loved every second of it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities & View
Liked least: Stay was too short :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2014
We can't wait to have you back for a long and luxurious stay the next time you visit Tasmania.

It is wonderful that you felt you didn't need to leave Avalon - days in front of the fire, or watching the moon rise over the sea are a wonderful getaway from the madness of our everyday world. Don't leave it too long to come back please.

Thank you for your lovely review, Best wishes from the Avalon Retreats team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing