We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and competitively priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Holiday Retreat
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We visited Strahan in January and the Discovery Holiday Parks met our basic needs. We had a cabin which was relatively well priced for Strahan. The staff were friendly enough and helpful whilst I believe the office was open until about 7.30pm. The site has laundry facilities and is only a short easy walk (10-15 minutes) into the main part of town.

As the previous reviewer said, it is basic:
- cooking facilities are 2 hob plates and basic grill with the odd BBQ outside
- beds are just comfortable enough
- bathroom facilities are the norm for these types of cabins and work well enough.

However, it is clean and the cabin's living area easily caters for 4 people.

We found that it did the job for the couple of nights we were there and you'll find it hard to do better for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warrenclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Located a short walk from the centre of town.

Very Clean and spacious.

Lovely decor with little homely added touches.

Friendly owners. Enjoyed our stay at Anchor Down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazz629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADcottage, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

We appreciate your comments as we are very proud to live in such a beautiful place in Tasmania.
If you had a great holiday in Tassie we could not be more pleased for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I never knew holiday park could be so well equipped, private and clean! Nice place to stay with such a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip2theMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had two nights there. The rooms were clean and with the basic facilities that what we want. Wifi doesn't work. Generally we are with with the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyTravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Early in the day of a long standing reservation, when worried about our travel progress, we were told by Anchor Down that we 'were going to be charged for the room regardless',, and fair enough too, business is business. Well we pushed on intrepidly down an inappropriate road from Smithton to Strahan. Hours into the journey, and getting very tired indeed, we re-telephoned Anchor Down to ask that they leave the room open, as our ETA could well be late. We were aghast to hear from the other end 'oh no, you cancelled your room, we have booked your reservation with someone else'. During our protestations, we were told all sorts of nonsense from Anchor Down as they tried to dig their way out and justify themselves. There we were, in the middle of nowhere, and the only place within coo-ee had shafted us. We go to Tasmania many times a year, and have done so for years, but there is one place we will never go to. Guess.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsy_K26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADcottage, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

We are sorry to here you did not get to stay at Anchor Down Cottages, yes you were booked in and yes you phoned & cancelled, we did hold the room for a long time for you. After being caught before; we did not wish to take another risk; the phones are a real problem for hosts and guests alike as we tried several times to contact you. When you did finally phone us back it was too late and for that we apologize. We try very hard to get it right, thankfully it is not very often we get it wrong. We are human and in a time when the pressure was immense, we did get it wrong.
We would be delighted, to get a chance to make it up to you as I have tried to email you with another offer, sadly the email was rejected from the mail box you gave us.
Were ever there is a human being, there is an act of kindness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.9 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
996 reviews
1.2 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
88 reviews
1.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Strahan Beach Tourist Park
0.6 km away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 km away
Driftwood Strahan Villas
Driftwood Strahan Villas
#9 of 21 in Strahan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Holiday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Holiday Retreat

Address: 8-10 Innes St West, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: ₹ 7,469 - ₹ 8,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Holiday Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strahan Holiday Retreat is situated on 8 acres of tall trees and Platypus streams. Perfect for families or large groups. There is an eclectic mix of cottages and cabins that range from Studios to four bedrooms homes. Most accommodation is larger than average with room to move and fully equipped with everything you need for an overnight stay or longer. Serviced and un-serviced sites offer camp kitchens and family bathrooms. There is a Cafe and shop on-site and a tour desk and activity hire. Bikes and Kayaks are available plus sandboards , beach cricket etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Holiday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing