We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best visit ever!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eldece C
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best visit ever!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the best visit in Aussie! The place is neat & tidy, good for both family & friends for 6- 8ppl. Kitchen equiped all tools and the view is awesome! Though September is not suitable for water sports/activities, we still can do some indoors like board games.
Absolutely will come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you for your visit! And thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82Muke
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“A very great place”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It is a very great place to stay for family, we very enjoy the time we live in there and will recommend it to our friends. Just my personal option, It would be better if there is WIFI....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay on our beautiful East Coast. I hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to Tasmania - and I hope you'll be able to stay a bit longer so that you can fully relax into Thalia's off-grid experience :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tassietra...
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Getting away from it all.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thalia is unbelievably peaceful. From lounging in the outdoor bath in front of the beautiful ocean to sitting in front of the fire it was so relaxing. Particularly as there is no mobile reception (for some) or TV so we played board games, chatted endlessly, cooked masterpieces in the amazing kitchen and took long walks to the private beach and even to the amazing wineglass bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is even more beautiful than the photos and so quiet and peaceful.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
I'm so glad to see that your Thalia experience was so relaxing and regenerative (and delicious)! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8Anna
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed for the weekend at Thalia with 3 other couples. A beautiful, unique and very special experience. The views and walks are perfect and the feeling of isolation is unique. We stayed here in winter and the open fires and throw rugs were enjoyed. Only minimal gripes - one bathroom for 6 of us was a bit of a challenge as you have to leave your cottage to access. Not great if you need to go in the middle of the night, although torches are provided. Would have liked pump packs of soap in the shared bathroom as we all shared one bar of soap. Even so, it was a lovely and memorable weekend away with friends. Loved the outdoor bath and sauna

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms for a group booking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review - winter is indeed a lovely time at Thalia, with those big blue skies, long walks on the beach, and cosy evenings around the fires. And the dolphins don't seem to mind, either! We hope you come again once the new bathrooms are in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan C
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“What a special place. Perfect for our anniversary”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second stay and it was even better this time around.
The breathtaking views draw you in from the moment you arrive and you instantly find yourself beginning to relax. The house is amazing and the big open fires made it so cozy for our winter stay. Another highlight is the private beach which is not only beautiful but also perfect for our dog to run free and tire himself out.
It's fantastic to find a pet friendly place that is this stunning!
It is safe to say we will be back for our third visit sometime soon. Thanks again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
It was so nice to welcome you back! And I'm honoured that you chose Thalia to celebrate your anniversary after being our guest as part of the larger birthday group last year. I'm pleased that Thalia worked as well for the two of you (plus dog of course) as it did for your extended family group. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;