We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
12
9
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
9
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfew drinksthe riverpubaustraliaoldesthistoryderwent
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

According to their info, this is the oldest continuously licenced pub in Australia. Good food (chicken schnitzel with tomato sauce and cheese), and nice cold beer. Overall, would be happy to recommend as a place to grab some food. However get there early as they stop food around 8PM

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

This pub is a fantastic example of a good ole Aussie pub. Yes it is a little dated inside but it is all genuine. The accomodation is all rooms consisting of old furniture, so if that's not your style, don't stay here. There is a lovely bistro at the rear with a huge area of decking overlooking the river.
The plum pudding is unreal!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Countrygal135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

A very old hotel with a good pub meal. Interesting folk and an Interesting place. The first hotel in Australia. A rich colonial history. Great view over the Derwent.
It doesn't look much from the outside but we were pleasantly surprised.
The pubs in the main street were either booked out or not serving food. It was a Wednesday night and we didn't want anything formal.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank anita l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a drink whilst staying at the nearby campsite. We were made very welcome by all, had a great night, many thanks to owners and the regulars for the hospitality shown. An excellent traditional pub, wish that there were more like it.
Alan & Maggie (Scotland)

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We walked to the Bush Inn from our accommodation not knowing what expect. What we got was a great night. The pub is the oldest in Australia and it shows but the atmosphere is fantastic. Warm cozy with two open fires burning in the bar areas. Lee, the bar man was a wealth of knowledge on the history of the pub and the first convicts. And the locals were welcoming and friendly. We had a "counter dinner" or you could sit in the dining room, the meal was very reasonably priced, very nice and there was plenty on the menu to choose from. We didn't want to leave!! We will definitely go back when we return. Do yourselves a favour if traveling through New Norfolk, have a couple of beers at the Bush Inn you won't regret it.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank johnnessh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews