We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
28
14
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
14
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pumpkin soup the slow cooked lamb well worth the wait shank hobart
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Went for dinner last night with my wife and a girlfriend of hers. New owners have done a superb job, nicely decked out, top food and good drinks. Will be back and highly recommended. Another plus for our beaut town :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Hmm...
I'm normally so positive.
Cute little place but positive turned negative .
Chosen for convenience it turned very inconvenient .
Bed and breaky picked to kickstart big day.
Off I go and pack car from about 7.30.
Notice no breakfast our or staff about.
So.. I go for walk and return at 8- nope nothing
So I ring bell and wait 5 min - no luck
So I get family ready and return at 8 8.30..
no, foyer still in darkness no sign of life or food..
Ring bell 2 more times and at 8.45 check ourselves out, write a nice note and depart, ( finding a very expensive bfast across road)
Also sent message on email -no reply.
Strange
Paid a lot of money for a family but a getting no reply let alone a partial refund ..
We had to alter our day to make up the overspend ..
I see it's for sale again, let's hope new owners can turn it around .. the family owners seen lovely so it's just a real shame .. buyer beware

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hi Stuart,

I am very sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience with us and that you misunderstood our booking policies when you booked. We clearly state on all of our booking sites and our website that we are guest accommodation or boutique accommodation NOT a bed and breakfast. You made your booking for a family room with Booking.com, it clearly states when you book with them that it is room only. I am also sorry that you had so much difficulty trying to contact us, Both my Husband and myself were in the building and served and checked out the other three rooms that were staying. There is a bell on the front counter, a mobile number to call if we do not hear the bell and also an alternate number on the front door, so not being able to contact us is confusing? Regarding your overspend, you booked a family room with ensuite for four for $185 room only on Booking.com, that is what you were charged?? Again confused at the overspend??
We really are disappointed that you left feeling so negative and that you had so much trouble getting in contact with us, this is unusual and we will put measures in place to ensure that we do not have this happen to others. We do hope that you found your room warm and comfortable during your stay.
regards Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Cute, quaint boutique hotel. Comfortable bed. Advertised as $100 per night for two people on the website including continental breakfast, however is actually $110 for two people without breakfast. Wifi advertised but extremely slow in our room.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank spat412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you found your bed comfortable. As we quoted to you when you booked both via email and phone our rates are $110 room only for a queen room with TV, sofa, tea and coffee making facilities, heating and an ensuite when booking direct with us. As we explained on your check out we are currently endeavouring to update our website. We are sorry that you felt you needed to state that we advertised $100 but charged $110 as we quite clearly explained to you before you booked what you were getting for the $110. Regarding the wifi we do offer free wifi and we do supply free wifi, speeds are variable and sometimes beyond our control. We do hope that your stay was warm, comfortable and quiet and that the information on the area that we helped you with led to an enjoyable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Exquisitely fresh, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented by the owner. We had lunch with Reisling in front of the fire. Then we went for our walk up in the Hartz Mountain. Huon Valley is the pick of places in Tasmania.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate that you took the time to review us and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Our salmon comes fresh from Huon aquaculture, just down the road, and has never seen a freezer. We love the Huon Valley, and the Hartz is one of our favourite getaway walks so it is great to hear that you enjoyed it :-). Thank you for the brochure you left us, we will drop in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Cosy and comfy olde worlde feel.
Great idea to have coats for sale in the sitting room as it was so cold.
Self serve continental breakfast was great and plentiful.
Hostess was helpful and friendly.
Room a bit cramped for 3 adults
Reasonable price.
Great position in the main street.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigail2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews