We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you need and close to beach!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Freycinet Haven

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Living room View from the front deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Front of house
Living room
View from the front deck
Kitchen
Living room
Queen bedroom with ensuite
King or twin single bedroom
Second queen bedroom
Bedroom 4
Kitchen
Dining
Main bathroom
Ensuite
Laundry with Bosch appliances
View of Hazards mountains
View from sofa in the living room
The house is positioned adjacent to Freycinet National Park
View from the front deck
The dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Coles Bay, Freycinet, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelwood
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything you need and close to beach!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We loved our 5 night stay at Freycinet Haven (2 adults and 1 infant). The house has everything you need for a great holiday, including a large deck to dine outside when the weather is suitable. The kitchen is fully equipped and we found everything we needed to prepare and cook our meals. The open plan living/kitchen/dining area is quite large and our little one had plenty of room to run about.

The house is maintained to a very high standard (the decks had just been re-oiled) and the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean. The owners have taken on suggestions of previous guests which is always a good sign e.g. There is now a door between the master bedroom and ensuite following feedback received in the guest book.

The location of the house is brilliant for visiting the beach, literally a five minute walk...heaven!

Provisions of tea and coffee were available on arrival, but the absence of milk in the fridge made it impossible to enjoy a "welcome coffee". It only took me 5 minutes and a short drive to the general store to get over this - as everything else about Freycinet Haven is so wonderful. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we hope to be back soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin D
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE best holiday home in Coles Bay bar none”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Pretty much the last house on the road before you get to the Visitor Information Centre (literally a 5 min walk). Huge, gorgeously appointed house with stunning attention to detail in the build, set-up and presentation. Spacious, airy, quiet, unbelieveable views, cool in hot summer, and a kitchen that wants for nothing. The owner is easy to deal with, prompt and courteous.

The in-house guestbook provides some good tips from previous guests - if you want a good laugh check out the entry from the poms who expect a "welcome" pack to include what amounts to a 5 course meal. The responses from guests who followed are equally hilarious.

But I digress, this is just a wonderful place and the best we have stayed in during our history of 20 years worth of annual trips to Tassie. You just can't wrong here - I can't recommend Freycinet Haven highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - don't make me choose :-)
Liked least: That I don't own the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripleart
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“an elegant house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for three days in Coles Bay at Freycinet Haven. It is a modern, well designed home. Our room had an ensuite and there was also a very large family bathroom with a bath and washing machine and dryer. There are three other bedrooms but the doors were locked as we didn't need them.
The kitchen was large and well equipped, and part of a very large dining/sitting room. There was also a balcony at the front, with a barbeque and seating, and a back deck.
The house has a lovely view of the Hazards through trees and is very quiet; all you can hear at night are the frogs in the nearby pond.
It is walking distance to the beach, and one night we walked into the one restaurant in town for dinner (excellent pizza and a good wine list).
Freycinet Haven was a very comfortable and quiet place to stay in an extremely beautiful part of Tasmania.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CateThomp...
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weatherproof!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Freycinet Haven is a lovely house, well appointed and furnished, cosy and comfortable. We stayed three nights and the weather was awful on one of the days - the house was weatherproof! We loved the views and the comforts and the heaters. We loved being able to buy relatively cheap local seafood and cook it in the fabulous kitchen. The stories in the guest book were most entertaining and it was obvious the owners have responded to requests. We had a beaut stay. We especially thanked the cleaners - it was spotless. WiFi would make it perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and the views
Liked least: the lack of furnishings in the bedrroms
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing