We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barclay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Devonport)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachway(Ulverstone)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
19
37
16
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
37
16
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolquiet locationtwo bedroom apartmentkids loved the pooltennis courtswell equipped kitchenelectric blanketsclose to towngreat for kidstwo single bedswalking distancemain roombeds were comfortableminute walkferry terminalenjoyed our staygood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

A very convenient location, close to the port, beach and city centre, with all the basic facilities, plus a good sized covered heated pool. A hearty breakfast to start the day. Rooms basic, clean and functional

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dobbo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barclaydevonport, other at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Not bad, but not great either! There are other places in Tasmania you could stay at the same price that are better!
The rooms were very stuffy and no air con to cool down! Rooms are a bit out dated too!
Free WiFi and has everything you need though.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bennymoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barclaydevonport, other at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Feedback is important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
We apologise for no air-conditioning but we do have portable standing fans when required, just ask reception and they will organise it for you. Continuous improvements are being done to the Motel and accommodations and we hope to see you here again in the future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

The Barclay Motor Inn has good solid accomodation with easy checkin and out. The beds were comfortable and free wifi is a plus. It was pricier than other accommodation but it was busy which might explain this. The location is in a nice part of Devonport with a short walk to the foreshore.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stevokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barclaydevonport, other at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and your feedback. It really makes a difference and encourages us to keep moving in the right direction and continue to provide excellent service for all to have a good stay with us. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I have been christmas shopping most if the day and there happens to be a narket on tomorrow in Latrobe so decided to stay the night. The Barclay lodge had a room available. The owner was very friendly room very clean and comfy will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stopped here on a work road trip and we had 3 rooms - one each. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean, beds were comfy and the whole property is in a quiet location close to town. We were all very happy with our rooms. The rate includes wifi which had good connectivity. Really nice showers with good pressure and shower heads...always makes a big difference when on the road for work!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back like numbers 23, 24, 25 etc - on that row
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with such positive feedback. Great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and next time you are on the road for work we hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews