We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the woods with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017

If you are travelling in the winter season, remember to try to give time to reach this place before sunset, otherwise it would be very difficult to drive and travel.
The room we had is really amazing! It has all the utensils and kitchenware where you could even cook up a good meal! The heating system is fantastic as well.
Would recommend this place to stay for your visit to Cradle mountain.

Room Tip: Amazing facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindyW_HikariS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Arrived on a chilly afternoon and were thankful that the cottage heaters were on.

The cottage itself was nice, clean and had plenty of extra blankets. The kitchenette was well appointed and tidy.

True to its name the cottage is nestled against bushland and if it hadn't been raining I am sure we would have been able to see the wildlife running around - we could certainly hear them!

The heated towel rack was also an added bonus!

We had four staying but the cottage would host 6 and would recommend to families and groups for sure.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank aacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We enjoyed a three night stay in one of the 'premium spa cabins'. The cabin was cosy and with a great outlook.

I'll start this review by saying our cabin was exceptionally clean, no sight of mould or soap scum in the shower, everything looked and smelled fresh, our cabin was cleaner than many high-end 5 star hotels!

The kitchenette was functional with everything you would need, although we didn't get a dishwasher like some of the other units. There was also a small BBQ on the deck which was perfect for cooking breakfast!

The Spa was wonderful, right in the centre of the room (hence why these cabins are really only suitable for couples...or very close friends), with an outlook over the bush (each cabin was built facing away from one another so they are very private).

The gas fire was exceptional in warming the whole cabin and there was a panel heater near the bed to keep you warm over night (plus there were electric blankets, much to my partners excitement!)

The only negatives for me were the bed and the bed linen. The bed was very firm which will be a positive for some people but not for others! The bed linen was quite harsh and made for a slightly scratchy night. The bedding, such as the doona and pillows were polyester filled and felt a bit cheap (always makes it a good idea to bring your own pillow if you can fit it!)

Overall would definitely recommend a stay at the Wilderness Village!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a spa cottage and loved it here. The cottage was cosy and comfortable with gorgeous views. We felt secluded and yet were close enough to cradle mountain to enjoy the setting when we wanted to venture out. Pillows were uncomfortable but otherwise we loved it here and highly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic stay at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village. Spa cabin for two was a perfect romantic getaway tucked away surrounded by native bushland. Short drive away was the tourist information station and bus shuttle to various walk drop offs to explore the amazing mountains, waterfalls, lakes and wild life. Definitely recommend the Wilderness village to begin your cradle mountain adventure.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.4 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,064 reviews
2.2 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,558 reviews
0.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
484 reviews
63.3 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
390 reviews
15 km away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: ₹ 9,657 - ₹ 17,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing