We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawkesbury River Boat Cruises - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
So good we did it twice!

On our 5th trip to Sydney, we found out about this hidden gem, by chance during a family get... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2017
Penny P
The Riverboat Postman, an excellent exposure to the Hawkesbury

Our party of 34 seasoned travellers joined the Riverboat Postmans Cruise at Brooklyn and what a... read more

Reviewed 5 August 2017
Derek H
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
10
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2014

After crossing the Hawkesbury River thousands of times, we finally did the Postman Cruise. What a gem. Boat leaves from Hawkesbury River Rail station so is very easy to access by public transport from Sydney and the Central Coast. Good tea and coffee served upon arrival with yummy hone made Anzac cookies. You can sit at table and chairs inside and there is also plenty of room walk around and sit outside. We learnt so much from the great commentary. Sound system was great, but don't sit where you have people who just talk and talk and are not interested in the information!! Great history of the region and natural stunning landscape beauty. Lunch is served indoors and was lovely, ham salad and bread roll, with plenty of butter and chutney, pickles and dressings. Followed by a nice chocolate. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Everything is done with a minimum of fuss. It is a great day up the Hawkesbury River seeing all the islands and riverside settlements accessible only by water. Take time to wander around the township on return, or go on the walk around the point. It is a very interesting day, and you will learn a lot. Ring and book, no charge at booking, just pay when you arrive. Seniors discount also.

Date of experience: December 2014
7  Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have hired a house boat on three occassions now, we've found it's the best way to entertain family, both children and grandchildren. We had 17 visitors come stay over Christmas, the houseboat was real hightlight of their stay. Plenty of accommodation on the large "Fascination" with spa on the upper deck and from memory 5 bedrooms with floor to ceiling windows. Nothing like floating on the water for relaxation. The houseboat becomes your everything accommodation, transport and entertainment for the time your on the boat. Fully recommended for get together, celebrations, parties or just family holidays. Recommend top of the range

Date of experience: December 2013
6  Thank 802JenniferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A beautiful part of the country and only 1.5 hours drive from Sydney. Cross the Hawksbury by cable ferry which is roll on roll off. Lots of interesting places along the roadside.

Date of experience: January 2013
6  Thank oulpete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC