We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home? NOT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Trout Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As the brouchure reads we like you to experience home away from home well this certainly not the case with us. Give credit where credit is due though large spacious rooms and the room was extremely clean commend the housekeeping. No airconditioning or fans in the room which we felt rather strange due to the summer heat,could'nt leave the windows open as the room we were in was closer to the road and you can hear traffic going through.The mini bar fridge kept clicking on and off which was extremely annoying.We did'nt stay at the Motel left at 2am with all that occurred.Will not return either.My friends are local in the surrounding area and thought it woud be nice to try the Chinese restaurant which is attached to the motel big mistake.You should have a meeting with your staff members especially the older mature lady that stands at the front desk in restaurant arms crossed and a stern look.Firstly when we sat down at the table and stated we just going to have drinks till we decide on what we will be ordering the statement was your not here to drink its a eating place very inappropriate and that where it went downhill from there.The lady attitude made us very uncomfortable always gazing at our table with arms crossed and continually pointing and we could hear the negative remarks this lady was sayng to a younger employee extremely unacceptable.I could not any longer put up with this attitude and left the restaurant and ask my friends to get takeaways for myself its a vile taste in my mouth this establishment. Charging $36 for a 6 pack of VB and by the way was hot not chilled a tad steep but was'nt suprising.My friends did'nt want to make a fuss usually when treated like something on the bottom of a shoe tend to let people know where not to go.By the way left the money in the fridge for the soft drinks and we certainly have no hesitation not to recommend this motel all because one sour grape that was extremely obnoxious.Good luck with your business and i do hope other people have a more family experience then what we experienced.

Room Tip: further to the back of the motel may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tj h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Booked the room by phone on a Thursday. Arrived on Saturday evening. Quick and friendly service at reception. We got one of the two spa suite with a separate bedroom. Kids loved the spa. Everything was good as expected and indicated on their web site. Checked out in the morning. Again friendly and quick service at reception. Plenty of parking off street and next to the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight, was a long drive through the national park, a lovely receptionist welcomed us, suggested Chinese food for dinner at the venue we decided to have it delivered to our room, was delicious.
The room was clean and comfortable with heating already turned on. Great showers, bed was good for a motel bed. Definitely rate the Big Trout Motor Inn. A big thumbs up! !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank craiggammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Every year we venture up the mountains from Sydney to have our yearly father son trip to Oberon!
We have been staying at the big trout since 2005 and wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Friendly, helpful staff, big spacious, clean rooms and the best Chinese restaurant on site!
10/10

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pisto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigtrout33, Front Office Manager at Big Trout Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoy your yearly visit to Oberon & your stay with us. Appreciate your recommendation, & will hopefully see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

What a great little town Oberon is. The motel was terrific, clean and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. Autumn is a nice time to visit with all the leaves changing and it's just down the road from Jenolan Caves. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberon
1.6 km away
Highlands Motor Inn
Highlands Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Oberon
47 reviews
0.5 km away
Motel Titania Oberon
Motel Titania Oberon
#2 of 3 in Oberon
102 reviews
38.5 km away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Jenolan Caves House
Jenolan Caves House
#1 of 1 in Jenolan Caves
1,445 reviews
1.5 km away
Jenolan Caravan Park
Jenolan Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Oberon
97 reviews
9.1 km away
Duckmaloi Park Lodge
Duckmaloi Park Lodge
#5 of 7 in Oberon
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trout Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trout Motor Inn

Address: Oberon St, Oberon, New South Wales 2787, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Oberon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Price Range: ₹ 5,493 - ₹ 10,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Trout Motor Inn is situated in the main street of Oberon and has a 3 1/2 star rating with all 33 rooms on the ground floor. All rooms have central heating, tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, telephone and electric blankets. The motel also boasts a Licensed Restaurant with popular Chinese and Australian cuisine and room service is available on request. The rooms are light and spacious with the standard rooms consisting of a queen and single bed. Family rooms all have a queen and three singles. There are also 2 bedroom spa rooms which have two queens and one single in them.The motel caters to coach groups, with Dinner Bed and Breakfast packages, and also day tour packages with guide. Oberon is 2.5 hours from Sydney and is 1150 meters above sea level. Just 29km from Oberon, you can explore the scenic wonders of Jenolan Caves. These adjoin the World Heritage listed Kanangra Boyd National Park, with its spectacular wilderness areas and the majestic Kanangra Walls.Oberon is known for its trout fishing, mushrooming and fossicking, and most recently the magnificent Mayfield Gardens. One of the largest privately owned cool climate gardens, with 160 acres of awe inspiring beauty. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing