We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Redleaf Resort(Blackheath)
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Motor Inn(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Boutique Hotel(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 221
US$ 215
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
US$ 69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
209
60
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
60
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgames roomheated poolblue mountainsbedroom cottagegreat for familiestoasting marshmallowspine lodgethe cottagestennis courtsfully equipped kitchenfabulous familycouples retreatbbq areapool tableself containedfamily wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 280 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in the Linden unit, for the weekend and found the venue lovely. The reception was very welcoming and extremely informative of where to eat. These are self-contained accomodation which was very spacious, the bathroom was very basic and could do with modernisation, but was very clean. It was one of the cleanest accomodation I have stayed at. They have air-conditioning and a lovely gas fire which kept the place very warm. We enjoyed sitting around the fire pit at night taking. For a family I would recommend this place. Will differently be returning, with the family, also would like to stay in the Possum Cabins for a couple which were located at the back in amongst the trees, very private.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I found ourselves thankful to be "put up" in Federation Gardens for a month due to a temporary job I had in Katoomba. We were happy not to be in the busy tourist area. The drive into Katoomba was easy and fast, but being out on the edge of Blackheath opened us up to an area of the mountains we may have otherwise missed.
There is a trailhead just steps from the property, and a variety of lookouts and other hikes just up the road (less than a 5 minute drive with easy access for all abilities).
The "cabin" as we called it, had plenty of space, kitchen necessities, and comfortable bedding.
There are rustic features; water takes time to become hot, then quickly becomes scalding; a few insects make their way in, etc. But as long as you keep in mind and have adequate expectations for the location, you will have an enjoyable time. There are many amenities, so you will have plenty to keep you busy.
The managers are caring and helpful, but provide personal space to allow for a restful stay.
We would recommend this location to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in the Laurel unit and found the venue a nice place for our short stay. The place is older and recent updates have improved the accommodation level. The receptionist was quite dismissive, which was a pity. The pool was ok, but very basic. A little playground, a decent shower and some repairs to the toilet would make this place very worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pogo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, Manager at Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to advise that Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway has recently appointed a new Management team who are committed to the ongoing upgrade of the property and to ensuring the highest standard of service and facilities are provided to all our guests. We hope you will come and stay with us again to see all the improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, Manager at Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews