We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Beautiful location and unique accommodation. The cabin was clean and well equiped with everything you could want! The service was also great!!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Star0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    53
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
104
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in the Linden unit, for the weekend and found the venue lovely. The reception was very welcoming and extremely informative of where to eat. These are self-contained accomodation which was very spacious, the bathroom was very basic and could do with modernisation, but was very clean. It was one of the cleanest accomodation I have stayed at. They have air-conditioning and a lovely gas fire which kept the place very warm. We enjoyed sitting around the fire pit at night taking. For a family I would recommend this place. Will differently be returning, with the family, also would like to stay in the Possum Cabins for a couple which were located at the back in amongst the trees, very private.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I found ourselves thankful to be "put up" in Federation Gardens for a month due to a temporary job I had in Katoomba. We were happy not to be in the busy tourist area. The drive into Katoomba was easy and fast, but being out on the edge of Blackheath opened us up to an area of the mountains we may have otherwise missed.
There is a trailhead just steps from the property, and a variety of lookouts and other hikes just up the road (less than a 5 minute drive with easy access for all abilities).
The "cabin" as we called it, had plenty of space, kitchen necessities, and comfortable bedding.
There are rustic features; water takes time to become hot, then quickly becomes scalding; a few insects make their way in, etc. But as long as you keep in mind and have adequate expectations for the location, you will have an enjoyable time. There are many amenities, so you will have plenty to keep you busy.
The managers are caring and helpful, but provide personal space to allow for a restful stay.
We would recommend this location to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in the Laurel unit and found the venue a nice place for our short stay. The place is older and recent updates have improved the accommodation level. The receptionist was quite dismissive, which was a pity. The pool was ok, but very basic. A little playground, a decent shower and some repairs to the toilet would make this place very worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, Manager at Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to advise that Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway has recently appointed a new Management team who are committed to the ongoing upgrade of the property and to ensuring the highest standard of service and facilities are provided to all our guests. We hope you will come and stay with us again to see all the improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.8 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
7.0 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
7.0 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
9.0 km away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway

Property: Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Address: 185 Evans Lookout Road, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Blackheath
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,549 - ₹ 13,380
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing